Tag: out-of-state driver

High Speed Reckless Driving Charge Dismissed in Caroline Va for Maryland Driver

High Speed Reckless Driving Charge Dismissed in Caroline County Va for Maryland Driver

THE RESULTS DO NOT GUARANTEE OR PREDICT A SIMILAR RESULT IN ANY FUTURE CASE UNDERTAKEN BY THE LAWYER. THE RESULTS DEPEND ON A VARIETY OF FACTORS UNIQUE TO EACH CASE.

 

 

 

Nick Wright represented a client charged with Reckless Driving for driving 88 mph in a 70 mph zone in Caroline County. The client was a resident of Maryland, and was driving a new car.

MrCaronline County Va. Wright was able to appear in court on the client’s behalf, and had the charge dCaroline County Courthouse Located in Bowling Green Vaismissed. The client only needed to complete a driver’s improvement course, and pay the fines and court costs. This allowed the client to avoid the 6 points and class 1 misdemeanor associated with a Reckless Driving charge.

If are and out of state driver that have been charged with Reckless Driving in Virginia, it is important that you contact an attorney that understands Virginia’s traffic laws and can guide you accordingly. John Weiland, Samantha Upton, and Nick Wright of Weiland Upton, Attorneys at Law focus their practice on defending clients charged with serious traffic offenses, such as Reckless Driving and DUI, and are ready to help you win your case.

 

High Speed Charge Reduced in Hopewell driving 92 mph in a 70 mph zone

High Speed Charge Reduced in Hopewell driving 92 mph in a 70 mph zone

THE RESULTS DO NOT GUARANTEE OR PREDICT A SIMILAR RESULT IN ANY FUTURE CASE UNDERTAKEN BY THE LAWYER. THE RESULTS DEPEND ON A VARIETY OF FACTORS UNIQUE TO EACH CASE.Samantha Upton

Samantha Upton represented a client who was charged with driving 92 mph in a 70 mph zone in Hopewell Va. The client was a full-time student at a public university in South Carolina, and would have difficulty making her court date due to class.

Ms. Upton was able to appear on the trial date, and have the client’s appearance waived. After advising theHopewell Va client to complete community service hours and a driver’s improvement course, Ms. Upton was able to have the charged reduced to an Improper Driving charge. This is a 3-point moving violation. The client was able to avoid the 6-points and class 1 misdemeanor associated with a conviction for Reckless Driving.

If you have been charged with Reckless Driving in Hopewell Virginia, it is important that you contact an attorney that understands Virginia’s traffic laws and can guide you accordingly. John Weiland, Samantha Upton, and Nick Wright of Weiland Upton, Attorneys at Law focus their practice on defending clients charged with serious traffic offenses, such as Reckless Driving and DUI, and are ready to help you win your case.

Virginia Reckless Driving Conviction Consquences

Greensville VA Reckless Driving Charge Reduced for 89 mph in a 70 mph zone

Greensville VA Reckless Driving Charge Reduced for 89 mph in a 70 mph zone

THE RESULTS DO NOT GUARANTEE OR PREDICT A SIMILAR RESULT IN ANY FUTURE CASE UNDERTAKEN BY THE LAWYER. THE RESULTS DEPEND ON A VARIETY OF FACTORS UNIQUE TO EACH CASE.

 

 

Nick Wright represented a client charged with Reckless Driving for driving 89 mph in a 70 mph zone in Greensville County. The client was a resident of Massachusetts, and was currently enrolled as a medical student.

Mr. Wright was able to appear on the client’s behalf on the trial date, and have the charge reduced to a simple speeding ticket. This allowed the client to avoid the 6 points and class 1 misdemeanor associated with a Reckless Driving charge. The client only needed to pay a small fine and court costs.

If you have been charged with Reckless Driving in Greensville Virginia, it is important that you contact an attorney that understands Virginia’s traffic laws and can guide you accordingly. John Weiland, Samantha Upton, and Nick Wright of Weiland Upton, Attorneys at Law focus their practice on defending clients charged with serious traffic offenses, such as Reckless Driving and DUI, and are ready to help you win your case.

 

Greensville County Reckless Driving is a Crime
Greensville County Reckless Driving is a Crime

CDL Driver’s Speeding Ticket Reduced in Greensville

CDL Driver’s Speeding Ticket Reduced in Greensville

THE RESULTS DO NOT GUARANTEE OR PREDICT A SIMILAR RESULT IN ANY FUTURE CASE UNDERTAKEN BY THE LAWYER. THE RESULTS DEPEND ON A VARIETY OF FACTORS UNIQUE TO EACH CASE.

Nick Wright represented a client charged with a speeding ticket for driving 70 mph in a 55 mph zone in Greensville County. The client was a resident of Texas, and has a recent speeding ticket on his driving record. The client also had a commercial driver’s license, which he needed for his job.

Mr. Wright was able to have the speeding ticket reduced to a Defective Equipment charge, which is a no points, non-moving violation. The client was able to keep his commercial driver’s license intact, and only needed to pay a small fine and court costs.

Greensville County / Emporia Virgnia Courthouse

If you have been charged with Reckless Driving in Virginia, it is important that you contact an attorney that understands Virginia’s traffic laws and can guide you accordingly. John Weiland, Samantha Upton, and Nick Wright of Weiland Upton, Attorneys at Law focus their practice on defending clients charged with serious traffic offenses, such as Reckless Driving and DUI, and are ready to help you win your case.

Stafford County Improper Lane Change Reduced

Stafford County Improper Lane Change Reduced

THE RESULTS DO NOT GUARANTEE OR PREDICT A SIMILAR RESULT IN ANY FUTURE CASE UNDERTAKEN BY THE LAWYER. THE RESULTS DEPEND ON A VARIETY OF FACTORS UNIQUE TO EACH CASE.
John Weiland represented a Florida man charged with making an improper lane change which resulted in an automobile accident. The man was a tractor-trailer driver with a commercial driver’s license, and was driving his tractor-trailer at the time of the accident.

Mr. Weiland appeared on his client’s behalf, and had the Improper Lane Change charge reduced to a non-moving violation, Defective Equipment. This result allowed no points to be added to the client’s driving record.

If you have been charged with making an Improper Lane Change or Reckless Driving in Stafford County Virginia, it is important that you contact an attorney that understands Virginia’s traffic laws and can guide you accordingly. John Weiland and Samantha Upton of Weiland Upton, Attorneys at Law focus their practice on defending clients charged with serious traffic offenses, such as Reckless Driving and DUI, and are ready to help you win your case.

Do I need a Reckless Driving Lawyer In Virginia? YES
Do I need a reckless Driving Lawyer In Virginia? YES

 

Guest Blog: New York Residents with VA Traffic Tickets

Virginia and Out-of-State Traffic Tickets

If you have a New York driver’s license and receive a Virginia traffic ticket, you are not off the hook just yet.

Virginia Speeding Ticket Attorneys

If convicted of a NY traffic offense and you are a VA driver, you will have to deal with:

  • The conviction being placed on your driving record
  • Points being placed on your record
  • The hassle of paying fines
  • Steep insurance hikes
  • Possible suspension
  • Possible revocation

Remember, New York and Virginia are members of the Driver’s License Compact, so they freely share driver information with one another. How can this be?

This means receiving a VA traffic ticket while having a NY license will lead to NY being notified about the ticket you received and vice versa for a ticket received in NY for a VA license holder.

What Can a Traffic Ticket Attorney Do for Me?

Face it: no one wants to travel all the way back to the state they just happened to pass through simply to fight their traffic tickets.

Hiring an attorney allows you to stay at home while your traffic ticket attorney fights for you.

Additionally, your lawyer understands the system better than anyone else, knows how to negotiate with the prosecutor in a way that will get you what you want, and can almost always get you a better deal than if you represented yourself.

Many people wrongly think that the cost of a traffic ticket attorney is simply too much. In reality, this could not be farther from the truth.

If you plead guilty, you might avoid travel costs, but the increase in your insurance and the associated fines will likely be well more than the cost of hiring an attorney.

If you fight the ticket yourself, you have to deal with administrative hurdles, may have to travel back to the state, and will be fighting a battle without the best weapons or ammunition.

Rules of the Road for Virginians

In Virginia, demerit points will usually be assessed against your VA driver’s license.

Essentially, as long as Virginia recognizes the traffic offense you committed in New York, you will receive points on your VA license for it.

Moreover, those points will go toward suspensions and revocations even though the offense was committed in a state other than Virginia.

Consequently, it pays to hire an experienced traffic ticket attorney who can get your traffic ticket reduced to an offense that Virginia would not put points on your license for.

Many times, your traffic ticket attorney will already have a relationship with the prosecutors and it might be easier than you may think to have a favorable plea negotiated for.

How a VA Driver Could Lose His Driving Privileges in NY

If you are an out-of-state driver and accrue 11 points or more, you will lose your New York driving privileges.

This accumulation of 11 points will be determined based on the New York point system, not your home state’s point system.

Therefore, if you are caught speeding 41 miles over the posted speed limit or get cited twice for speeding 21-30 miles over the limit, you will no longer be allowed to drive in the State of New York for a specified duration of time.

Remember, your driver’s license will not be suspended by your home state and NY does not have the authority to suspend an out-of-state driver’s license.

However, since VA and NY are both members of the Driver’s License Compact, VA will honor the “suspension” of your New York driving privileges even though it will not take away your ability to drive elsewhere.

Author Bio

Adam H. Rosenblum of ticketdefenselaw.com  is a traffic ticket attorney licensed to practice in both New York and New Jersey.

How Virginia Assesses Points on Your Driving Record

Speeding in Virginia? How many points is that?

Upon receiving a speeding ticket in Virginia, most drivers want to know how many points will be placed on their driving record. Virginia’s Uniform Demerit Point System can be a bit confusing. It is important for both in-state and out-of-state drivers to understand Virginia’s Uniform Demerit Point System.

All Virginia-licensed drivers and residents are subject to Virginia’s Uniform Demerit Point System. The Commonwealth’s demerit point system does not apply to out of state drivers. For example, a person, licensed in North Carolina, convicted of reckless driving eighty-eight (88) miles per hour in a sixty-five (65) mile-per-hour zone in Henrico County General District Court would be subject to North Carolina’s demerit point system, not Virginia’s. As a result, it is important for out-of-state drivers to contact their state’s department of motor vehicles to determine the applicable demerit points associated with their specific charge.

All Virginia drivers start with zero points on their driving records. Virginia licensed drivers receive one positive (+1) point for every year of good driving. In-state drivers may receive positive five (+5) points by voluntarily completing a defensive driving school. However, this can only be done once every two years. Five points are the maximum positive points permitted by law in the state. As a result, the best driver point balance in Virginia is +5 points.

There are three categories of negative point violations: three demerit point violations, four demerit point violations, and six demerit point violations. Examples of six demerit point violations are DUI, reckless driving by speed, speeding in excess of eighty miles per hour, speeding in excess of twenty miles per hour, and driving on a suspended license. For instance, a Virginia licensed driver or resident convicted of DUI would receive six negative points on their driving record. If a person is convicted of more than one demerit point violation with the same offense date, then that person is assessed demerit points for the highest demerit point violation. For example, a person convicted of DUI and speeding seventy-nine miles per hour in a seventy mile per hour zone in Chesterfield County General District Court would be assessed six negative demerit points for the DUI conviction. No demerit points would be assessed for the speeding conviction.

VA speeding ticket lawyers points drivers license

Click here for a full list of Virginia traffic violations and their corresponding demerit points. 

There is no limit to the number of negative points a person may accumulate. A person who accumulates negative twelve demerit points in a twelve consecutive month period or negative twenty-four demerit points in an eighteen consecutive month period will be placed on probation. This probationary period lasts for six months. Any person convicted of a demerit point violation during the probationary period will have their license suspended for ninety days (six demerit point violations), sixty days (four demerit point violations), or forty-five days (three demerit point violations). For example, a person convicted of reckless driving by speed, who is on probation, will have their driver’s license suspended for ninety days because reckless driving by speed is a six demerit point violation. However, people suspended while on probation may be eligible to petition the Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles for a restricted driver’s license.

A person who successfully makes it through the probationary period with no demerit point violations will, then, be placed on an eighteen month control period. A person who receives a demerit point violation during the control period will be placed back on a six month probationary period. Additionally, a person who violates probation will have their probation extended for an additional six months.

The best advice is to try to avoid being placed on probation. You should take even minor traffic infractions seriously because demerit points tend to sneak up on people. For example, a person with zero points who pays off three speeding tickets they received within the same year may be placed on probation. Experienced traffic attorneys, like the lawyers at Weiland Upton, know how to advise their clients to avoid the accumulation of demerit points from reckless driving and speeding tickets in Virginia.

Weiland Upton is a leading firm of Virginia Speeding Ticket Lawyers

Call (804) 355-8037 for a free consultation