Henrico County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

  • Home
  • Henrico County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

Henrico County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

(804) 355-8037

When a minor, whether you or your child, is charged with underage possession of alcohol or underage consumption of alcohol in Henrico County, VA they’re going to want to secure legal representation from a prominent law firm. After all, underage possession of alcohol and underage consumption of alcohol are serious crimes demanding a serious response.

Henrico County, VA charges underage possession of or consumption of alcohol as Class 1 Misdemeanors. These are some of the most serious charges you or your child can face as a minor in Virginia. That means it’s imperative that you enter the courthouse with a proven underage drinking attorney working to defend you or your child. Doing anything else is simply risking fate and the notoriously tough justice system in Henrico County, VA.

The Weiland Firm, PLC has been representing minors who have been charged with underage possession of alcohol and underage consumption of alcohol in Henrico County, VA for more than a decade. In that time, we’ve built strong relationships with the judges and prosecutors in the courts there so we’re able to provide a more comprehensive list of legal options for our clients.

Applicable Laws For Underage Possession of Alcohol In Henrico County, VA

Virginia legal statute states that underage drinking, underage possession of alcohol and attempting to buy alcohol as a minor as Class 1 Misdemeanors punishable by fines up to $2,500 and up to 12 months in jail. Minors will also have their driving privileges suspended and be forced to complete a mandatory substance abuse program. It’s also a crime to knowingly sell alcohol to a minor or to provide an ID to a minor for the purposes of purchasing alcohol in Henrico County, VA. Law enforcement officials do not mess around when it comes to these charges and stake out the locations where minors will often drink – like concert venues, event centers and hangout stops. It’s easier than you think to be charged with underage possession of alcohol or underage drinking in Henrico County, VA.

Primary Consequences For Underage Possession of Alcohol & Underage Drinking in Henrico County, Virginia?

Virginia Code Section 4.1-305 Underage Possession of Alcohol

Being Class 1 Misdemeanors, underage drinking, underage possession of alcohol and attempting to buy alcohol as a minor may seem like the least serious crimes you could commit as a minor in Henrico County, VA. However, that assumption would be dead wrong as it’s really one of the more serious with potentially life-altering ramifications for those convicted. The fines alone can be crippling financially and the jail time can derail anyone’s life – let alone a person under 21 years of age. In fact, the penalties associated with a Henrico County, VA conviction for underage possession or consumption of alcohol might seem more at home tied to a DUI but that’s the law in the Commonwealth and it’s definitely a reason to hire a underage drinking lawyer from The Weiland Firm, PLC.

What Happens If You Get Caught Drinking Under 21 In Henrico County, Virginia?

Underage drinking and possession of alcohol are Class 1 Misdemeanor offenses in Henrico County, Virginia. Penalties are as follows:

Between the age of 18 to 20:

  • Receive 12 months in Jail.
  • A Maximum Fine of $2,500.
  • A Minimum Fine of $500.
  • Community Service.
  • Commonly Charged As A Minimum Fine of $500 or 50 Hours of Community Service.

Below the age of 18:

  • Driver’s license will be delayed or suspended for 6 months.
  • Complete a compulsory substance abuse counseling program.

Henrico County VA law enforcement officers can arrest a minor for suspicion of being intoxicated without ever seeing an alcoholic drink. This happens more than you might think and usually goes something like this. An officer approaches a minor at a concert venue or local hangout. The officer states that they believe the minor to be inebriated. They arrest the minor and compel them to take a blood or breath test. If positive, the minor is immediately charged with underage consumption of alcohol – a Class 1 Misdemeanor. The only defense against this type of arrest is a good lawyer and the best underage drinking and underage possession of alcohol attorneys in Henrico County, VA can be found at The Weiland Firm, PLC. A free case review awaits and all it takes to get started is a call to our friendly office staff.

First Offender Program For Underage Possession of Alcohol In Henrico County, VA

Known in the legal arena as the first offender program, there’s a program in Henrico County, VA for minors and those still under 21 years of age who have been arrested for possession of or consumption of alcoholic beverages. While most people wouldn’t even know this exists, the attorneys from The Weiland Firm, PLC are intimately familiar with it having helped a large number of Henrico County, VA clients find their way into the program and away from penalties. In this program, the minor client will complete an alcohol education program and a certain number of hours of community service. Once that’s done and they don’t have subsequent charges during the probationary period the court will dismiss the charges. But you need The Weiland Firm, PLC advocating for you to make it happen.

Additional Consequences Of Underage Possession of Alcohol In Henrico County, Virginia

While what we’ve laid out so far is bad enough, a conviction for underage possession of alcohol in Henrico County, VA can have lasting consequences for your child that extend well beyond their time in court. How, you ask? Well, for one thing many colleges and universities will look at your child’s record prior to making an admissions decision. Some may see the conviction for underage possession of alcohol in Henrico County, VA and feel your child is not the right fit for their institution. The same goes for some employers. Your child may even be expelled from school altogether, if not outright suspended for a length of time, and this may cause lags in education timelines or difficulty in finding another school that will accept them. After all, those schools will most likely have access to the same records that prompted your child’s first school to expel them. All of this can be detrimental to the development of your child at a crucial time in their lives so save them from all of that, as well as saving yourself from the stress and worry, by securing underage possession of alcohol representation from the attorneys at The Weiland Firm, PLC

Experienced Henrico County, VA Underage Drinking Attorneys

Kids make mistakes. That’s a truism we can all get behind so when your child has been arrested or charged with underage possession of alcohol, or any related charge, you need to contact The Weiland Firm, PLC right away to discuss your legal options with one of our Henrico County, VA underage possession of alcohol lawyers. We’ll provide you with clear answers and every legal option available to your child, as well as the alternative solutions open to the court. Remember, underage possession of alcohol in Henrico County, VA is a crime and a serious one at that. You must take it as a direct threat to your child’s future because it is so acquiring representation from the unmatched underage possession of alcohol lawyers at The Weiland Firm, PLC is the only choice you have if protecting your child is your only objective.

Contact Us Today At (804) 355-8037

When your child’s freedom and future are at risk, you should consult effective, experienced and aggressive defense attorneys – like those you’ll find at The Weiland Firm, PLC. Our Henrico County, VA underage drinking attorneys will handle the case with the seriousness that it deserves – whether your child has been arrested for underage drinking or they are accused of possession, selling or consuming alcohol in a public space. Don’t try to plead guilty or even attempt to negotiate for a reduced penalty. Once you do that, you are already putting yourself at the mercy of the criminal justice system, and the outcome might not be favorable. Contact our law firm for a free case review and we will schedule a free consultation immediately.

Related Pages:

Henrico County Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Henrico County Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Henrico County Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Glen Allen Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

Related Information:

Underage Possession of Alcohol (804) 469-8075 In Virginia, it’s illegal for a person under 21-years old to possess, purchase, or consume any alcoholic beverage such as liquor, wine, and beer (Code of Virginia § 4.1-305).  Our attorneys are highly experienced in defending minors and young adults charged with underage possession of alcohol in Henrico County, Henrico County, the Town of Ashland, Henrico County, Caroline County,…

Underage Possession of Alcohol Charge Dropped The Weiland Firm, PLC represented a VCU student recently in Richmond General District Court on a charge of Underage Possession of Alcohol. In this case, the VCU police department responded to a complaint regarding some activity in a university dorm room. When the the police arrived, they immediately noticed the smell of alcohol in the room where several college students were hanging…

Underage Possession of Alcohol Dismissed in Caroline County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Dismissed in Caroline County, VA Last week, John Weiland of The Weiland Firm, PLC, Attorneys at Law, represented a client charged with Underage Possession of Alcohol a (Class 1 Misdemeanor) in Caroline County, Virginia. Mr. Weiland met with the client and his family and prepared a strategy for the best possible outcome in the case. A criminal…