Henrico County VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
The popularity of underage drinking, both in popular media and in reality, usually creates the perception that underage drinking is cool and socially acceptable. As much as this might be true or not, what remains clear is that underage drinking and possession of alcohol in Henrico, VA is illegal. Many states in the U.S have a zero-tolerance policy against underage drinking, and Virginia is no exception. If you are below the age of 21 and you are found drinking or in possession of alcohol, then you can be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor offense under Virginia Code Section 4.1-305
Call The Weiland Firm, PLC at 804- 355-8037 For Free Consultation
While underage drinking might appear as a minor youthful indiscretion, law enforcement officers view it differently. Therefore, if a child is convicted of these crimes, the penalties are severe, both short term and long term. Virginia underage drinking laws are quite complex. And a mistake committed at a young age has the potential of creating lifetime challenges. If you are the parent or guardian of a child facing underage drinking and possession charges, you should contact the law offices of The Weiland Firm, PLC immediately. As one of the best Henrico County VA underage possession of alcohol lawyers, we will field a powerful and aggressive defense for your son or daughter. We have the experience, skills, and resources necessary to provide the best criminal defense for your child.
Underage Drinking Penalties and Consequences
What Are The Penalties For Underage Drinking In Henrico County Virginia?
Henrico County Virginia Underage Possession of Alcohol is A Class 1 Misdemeanor Which Can Result in:
- A fine of up $2,500
- Up to 12 months in jail
- A permanent criminal record
- License suspension of at least 6 months.
Contact a Henrico County VA Underage Possession of Alcohol
Underage drinking and possession of alcohol are serious charges in Henrico County and throughout Virginia. Authorities believe that underage drinking is both a health and safety hazard to young people in Virginia. And that’s why they apply strict penalties for those who violate these laws. According to the laws of Virginia, it’s illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to purchase, consume or possess alcoholic drinks such as beer, wine, and spirits. Violating these laws comes with heavy fines and penalties. Some of the penalties for violating underage drinking laws in Virginia include a fine of up to $2,500, driver’s license suspension for 6 to 12 months, up to 12 months in jail, court mandated counseling program and up to 50 hours of community service.
Whether your child will lose the driver’s license or not will depend on the nature and extent of the charges. If your child is found guilty of violating underage possession and consumption of alcohol laws, there is a high chance that their license will be suspended for at least 6 months. Also, they will be slapped with a fine of $500. Besides the legal penalties, a conviction resulting from underage drinking and possession charges comes with a permanent criminal record. And such a record might affect future opportunities in education, employment, and housing. Also, some schools might expel a student who has been convicted of underage drinking and possession of alcohol.
The penalties for underage drinking and possession of alcohol are both short term and long term. Even well-behaved teens can sometimes experience lapses in judgment. And when that happens, they might sometimes find themselves facing underage drinking and possession of alcohol charges. The attorneys at The Weiland Firm, PLC understand the consequences of such indiscretions on the futures of hardworking, well-intentioned and bright young people. We regularly defend young adults and teens who have been accused of violating underage drinking laws in Hanover VA.
Virginia code 4.3-306 states:
It is a Class 1 Misdemeanor to buy or give alcohol to anyone under the age of 21.
If found guilty, you could lose your driver’s license, serve jail time up to a year and pay a fine up to $2,500.
Virginia code 18.2-266.1 states:
If you are under 21 and caught driving with a blood alcohol level of .02 or more, you can be charged with DUI. If you are over 21, the legal limit is .08.
If found guilty, you could lose your driver’s license for a year, be ordered to pay a $500 fine and/or be required to perform community service.
Virginia code 4.1-309 states:
No one is allowed to possess or drink alcohol on school property.
Virginia code 22.1- 279.3:1 states:
If you are caught with alcohol in your possession or in your system at school, the law says the school staff must report it to local law enforcement. You will be charged with possession of alcohol
Henrico County Virginia First Offender Program
If you don’t have prior criminal convictions, and you’ve been charged with underage drinking and possession of alcohol, then you might qualify for Virginia’s first offender program. To be eligible for this program, you must enter a no contest or guilty plea. After that, you will be under supervised probation for at least 12 months or shorter. During the probation period, you will have to submit to regular alcohol tests. Also, your driver’s license will be suspended for at least 6 months. In some instances, you might avoid having your license suspended, depending on the circumstances of the case. Furthermore, you need to complete at least 50 hours of community service and pay the court fees and costs set by the judge.
If you complete this program successfully, then your charges will be dismissed. However, you should remember that you already enter a guilty plea, which means that charge will remain on your records forever. Therefore, if someone conducts a background check on you, then your criminal record will show up. On the other hand, if you enter this program and violate any of the rules, then your eligibility will be revoked.
Also, you will be summoned back to court and a new hearing will be set. In some instances, the sentence imposed on offenders who fail to complete this program is even harsher than what could have been handed out, if your attorney had worked out a plea negotiation with the prosecutor. Regardless of whether you want to fight the charges or you want to enter the probation program, you first need to consult a skilled Henrico VA underage possession of alcohol lawyer. The attorney will explore the options available and then guide you accordingly.
Why Us – Choose an Experienced Henrico County VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
If your child has been arrested and charged with underage drinking or possession of alcohol, then you will need a skilled Henrico VA underage possession of alcohol lawyer. You should always remember that anything that you say, can and will be used against you in a court of law. Apart from that, you are innocent, until you are found guilty. Also, you are entitled to certain rights as a defendant. Therefore, you should ensure that you have an aggressive and skilled criminal defense attorney by your side, who will stand up for your rights while helping you to fight these criminal charges. At The Weiland Firm, PLC, securing a favorable outcome for every case has always been our priority, and it will remain so forever.
Underage Drinking in Henrico County Va
Whether your child is guilty of the underage drinking charges or not, they will need an experienced and qualified Henrico County Virginia underage possession of alcohol lawyer to represent them. Without proficient legal representation, you are placing your child’s life and future at risk. A conviction due to underage drinking and possession carries harsh penalties. Apart from the hefty fines, your child might have to spend at least 50 hours of their time doing community service. Also, they might be forced to undergo counseling or be put under probation. Furthermore, if they are convicted of these charges, they will end up with a permanent criminal record, which might jeopardize their opportunities in the future such as education and employment.
As you can see, you should not take these charges lightly or expect your child to be treated leniently in court, just because they are below the age of 21. Once you or your child has been charged with underage drinking and possession of alcohol, don’t wait until it’s too late. Instead, reach out to us right away, and we can discuss how to proceed with the case. We will evaluate the case and then present you with the best possible outcome. We have successfully handled hundreds of other similar cases before. Therefore, you can rest assured that your case is in good hands.
As one of the most experienced Henrico VA underage possession of alcohol attorneys, we will stick with you at every stage of the criminal proceedings. We serve as defenders, counselors and advocates, during plea bargain negotiations. Also, we have the advanced experience and skills needed to provide competent legal representation in underage criminal charges. At The Weiland Firm, PLC, we recognize that our youth deserve a chance at a productive and healthy future. Therefore, we will do our best to provide legal representation, while helping them to avoid future confrontations with law enforcement officers.
When you call our office, you will speak with one of our legal experts, who will answer your queries, learn more about the circumstances surrounding the case and then schedule a consultation. We will work with you throughout the process to ensure we meet your legal needs. The Weiland Firm, PLC will strive to be straightforward and honest when it comes to all the cases that we handle. We will present you with a realistic view of the case and then work with you to secure the best possible outcome. Facing underage drinking and possession charges can be scary and overwhelming. Let the attorneys at The Weiland Firm, PLC handle the case and give you the peace of mind that you need, to move forward.
Contact Us Today at 804- 355-8037
Underage drinking and possession of alcohol is a serious criminal violation in Henrico County VA. Therefore, the penalties and provisions associated with these charges, are a reflection of the state’s zero-tolerance policy against underage drinking and possession of alcohol. Because of the serious consequences and the harsh penalties that come with this conviction, you should mount a strong defense. And this is where we come in. At The Weiland Firm, PLC, we understand that young people can make mistakes due to peer pressure, among other factors.
We also believe that these mistakes shouldn’t define who you are or deny you opportunities in the future. With this in mind, we will work aggressively and vigorously, to get your charges reduced or dropped. As experienced and skilled criminal defense lawyers, we have been practicing criminal lawyer in Virginia for many years. Therefore, we have a clear understanding of the state’s criminal justice system. We are adequately equipped and experienced to handle underage drinking and possession of alcohol charges and obtain the best possible outcome for your case. Consult our legal experts today and schedule a free initial consultation.
Richmond Va Underage Possession Of Alcohol Lawyer
Chesterfield County Va Underage Possession Of Alcohol Lawyer
Hanover County Va Underage Possession Of Alcohol Lawyer
Glen Allen Va Underage Possession Of Alcohol Lawyer
Henrico County, VA – Reckless Driving and Underage Possession of Alcohol – Both Dismissed
Underage Possession of Alcohol Charge Dropped
Underage Possession of Alcohol Dismissed