Hanover County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

  • Home
  • Hanover County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

Hanover County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

(804) 355-8037

Hanover County, VA is a difficult place to be charged with underage possession of alcohol or underage consumption of alcohol, let alone be charged with trying to purchase alcohol as a minor with an altered, manufactured or borrowed driver’s license or ID. The court system there plays hardball so you’ll need one of the underage drinking attorneys from The Weiland Firm, PLC fighting for you in court.

As Class 1 Misdemeanors, underage possession of alcohol and underage consumption of alcohol come with incredibly serious consequences for a minor and their parents. The costs are too high in terms of impacts to future opportunities in education and employment, not to mention the actual punishment handed down by the justice system. For something this serious, you need an expert underage possession of alcohol attorney – one with experience in Hanover County, VA.

No local law firm matches the level of service and courtroom skill that you’ll find at The Weiland Firm, PLC. We have been successfully defending clients against underage consumption of alcohol and underage possession of alcohol charges in Hanover County, VA for over a decade so we know the right moves to make on your behalf.

Applicable Laws For Underage Possession of Alcohol In Hanover County, VA

To make it even more evident how serious an underage possession of alcohol or underage consumption of alcohol is to your present and future, let’s take a closer look at the penalties attached to a conviction in Hanover County, VA. Class 1 Misdemeanors can carry a fine up to $2,500 and jail time not to exceed 12 months in duration. That got your attention, didn’t it? This is why our underage drinking attorneys advocate so loudly for every minor who finds themselves facing these charges in Hanover County, VA to fight the charge against them with an accomplished, established underage possession of alcohol lawyer from The Weiland Firm, PLC by their side. The consequences of not beating the charge against you, or accepting a deal you think sounds good but is actually harmful to your future, can be too severe to contemplate. It’s safer and smarter to let our legal minds fight the battle for you and claim victory where you thought only defeat was possible.

Primary Consequences For Underage Possession of Alcohol & Underage Drinking in Hanover County, Virginia?

Virginia Code Section 4.1-305 Underage Possession of Alcohol

Most of us drank before we were 21 years of age. Most law enforcement officers in Hanover County, VA did too. However, that won’t stop them from charging a minor who is drinking or possessing alcohol with a crime. They’ll arrest you without hesitation as that’s their job and the law is the law. When this happens to you or your child, you may be at a loss for what it actually means. You may not know how incredibly serious the charge against them happens to be. You’ll want to speak with an experienced underage possession of alcohol attorney about your options and the chances you have at lessening or eliminating the penalties you or your child faces. Those penalties, again, can be severe.

What Happens If You Get Caught Drinking Under 21 In Hanover County, Virginia?

Underage drinking and possession of alcohol are considered Class 1 Misdemeanor offenses in Hanover County, Virginia. They carry the following penalties:

Between the age of 18 to 20:

  • Receive 12 months in Jail.
  • A Maximum Fine of $2,500.
  • A Minimum Fine of $500.
  • Community Service.
  • Commonly Charged As A Minimum Fine of $500 or 50 Hours of Community Service.

Below the age of 18:

  • Driver’s license will be delayed or suspended for 6 months.
  • Complete a compulsory substance abuse counseling program.

Though it may come as a surprise to minors and their parents when it happens, law enforcement doesn’t even have to find alcohol to arrest someone for public intoxication. If an officer believes you or your child have been drinking then they can arrest you or them and compel a blood or breath test to prove whether or not alcohol has been consumed. If a minor uses a fake ID to try to purchase, or successfully purchases, alcohol then they can be charged with a crime as it’s illegal in Hanover County, VA to possess an altered, manufactured or stolen license, as well as one that was given to a minor for the purposes of buying alcoholic drinks. The owner of the license will be charged with a crime as well and one that carries with it up to 6 months in jail if convicted. Face it, underage drinking and underage possession of alcohol in Hanover County, VA is risky. If you get caught, call The Weiland Firm, PLC right away.

First Offender Program For Underage Possession of Alcohol In Hanover County, VA

When a minor is arrested and charged with underage possession of alcohol or underage consumption of alcohol in Hanover County, VA there may be an alternative sentencing option open to them that without an experienced underage drinking attorney they may never even know about. The first offender program requires a minor to complete an alcohol education program and a certain number of hours of community service. Once the minor completes both programs, and assuming they don’t have subsequent charges during the probationary period, then the court can dismiss the charges. The best chance at securing this outcome invariably comes with an attorney from The Weiland Firm, PLC handling your case.

Additional Consequences Of Underage Possession of Alcohol In Hanover County, Virginia

More than just legal ramifications, a Hanover County, VA conviction for underage possession of alcohol or underage consumption of alcohol, even for attempting to buy alcohol as a minor, brings with it lasting consequences that impact your education and your employment. Some schools might expel you and could lose a chance to complete studies, compete in sports or participate in other school programs. If expelled, you might find it quite difficult to be admitted to another as they’ll have to check records in most cases. Underage possession and consumption of alcohol are serious charges which should not be taken lightly. They’ll affect studies and could even lead to severe future consequences like missing out on employment opportunities. If your driving license is suspended as a result of underage possession and consumption of alcohol, the chances are high that you’ll have to pay higher insurance premiums once reinstated. But with The Weiland Firm, PLC by your side you have a fighting chance.

Experienced Hanover County, VA Underage Drinking Attorneys

While all young people make mistakes, not all young people have the book thrown at them by overzealous prosecution for a minor offense. But that’s not uncommon in Hanover County, VA underage possession of alcohol and underage consumption of alcohol cases. Parents and minors charged with these criminal offenses should immediately contact The Weiland Firm, PLC to discuss their case with one of our skilled and experienced underage possession of alcohol attorneys. We can answer all your questions, discuss the possibilities open to you and advocate for you relentlessly once brought in to defend you. Consultations are free of charge and begin with a case review.

Contact Us Today At (804) 355-8037

When your child’s freedom and future are at risk, you should consult the effective, experienced and aggressive defense attorneys at The Weiland Firm, PLC. Our Hanover County, VA underage drinking attorneys will handle your case with all the seriousness it deserves. Once you or your child are arrested for underage drinking or are accused of possessing, selling or consuming alcohol in a public space you should call our attorneys right away. Don’t plead guilty or attempt to negotiate for a reduced penalty. Once you do that, you are putting yourself at the mercy of the criminal justice system and the outcome might not be favorable. Contact our law firm for a free case review and to schedule a free consultation.

Related Pages:

Hanover County VA Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Henrico County VA Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Hanover County VA Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Glen Allen VA Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

Related Information:

Underage Possession of Alcohol (804) 469-8075 In Virginia, it’s illegal for a person under 21-years old to possess, purchase, or consume any alcoholic beverage such as liquor, wine, and beer (Code of Virginia § 4.1-305).  Our attorneys are highly experienced in defending minors and young adults charged with underage possession of alcohol in Henrico County, Hanover County, the Town of Ashland, Hanover County, Caroline County,…

Underage Possession of Alcohol Charge Dropped The Weiland Firm, PLC represented a VCU student recently in Richmond General District Court on a charge of Underage Possession of Alcohol. In this case, the VCU police department responded to a complaint regarding some activity in a university dorm room. When the the police arrived, they immediately noticed the smell of alcohol in the room where several college students were hanging…

Underage Possession of Alcohol Dismissed in Caroline County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Dismissed in Caroline County, VA Last week, John Weiland of The Weiland Firm, PLC, Attorneys at Law, represented a client charged with Underage Possession of Alcohol a (Class 1 Misdemeanor) in Caroline County, Virginia. Mr. Weiland met with the client and his family and prepared a strategy for the best possible outcome in the case. A criminal…