Hanover County VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
When young people are on the verge of adulthood, they tend to explore various things and learn from new experiences – including drinking alcohol, often to excess. Most young people perceive drinking alcohol as a step into adulthood. Some view it as a rebellious and fun way to express their personality. Unfortunately, underage drinking comes with serious negative implications if someone is convicted of the offense. Apart from ending up with a criminal record, a conviction could ruin a young person’s future opportunities including education and employment. Besides that, they might be suspended or expelled from school. Contact an Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer at the Weiland Firm, PLC as soon as possible.
If you are the guardian or parent of a minor charged with underage possession and consumption of alcohol, then you should contact the law office of The Weiland Firm, PLC. Our underage possession of alcohol lawyers can help you to fight these charges and minimize the harsh penalties. We have substantial experience and skills, when it comes to defending underage drinkers in Hanover County and throughout Virginia. Whether you just want to maintain a clean criminal record or you don’t want to throw away your educational and job opportunities, the law office of The Weiland Firm, PLC can help you to fight underage possession of alcohol charges and represent your best interests.
Applicable Hanover County VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Laws
Virginia has various laws, related to underage drinking and possession of alcohol. They include purchase of alcoholic beverages by a minor, underage possession of alcohol, using fake identification, selling alcohol to underage persons as well as driving with influence (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol.
Hanover Va Underage Possession of Alcohol: It’s a crime under the laws of the commonwealth of Virginia, for a person under the age of 21 to be in possession of alcohol. And if law enforcement officers suspect someone under the age of 21 has taken alcohol, they will be required to undertake an alcohol screening test. Refusing to take the test will be considered as an additional infraction, which could lead to more charges.
Hanover Va Fake Identification: Some minors use fake driving licenses, birth certificates, or student identification cards, to purchase alcohol. However, using an altered, simulated or fictitious method of identification to purchase alcohol is a Class 1 misdemeanor offense. Using fake IDs can also lead to additional charges such as identity theft or forgery. Again, the commonwealth of Virginia doesn’t take such incidents lightly.
Hanover Va Selling Alcohol to Minors: Selling alcohol to any person under the age of 21 is also a criminal offense in Hanover County and throughout Virginia. The penalties applied will depend on the circumstances. For instance, if a minor used a fake method of identification to purchase alcohol from your premises, then you might not be charged.
Consequences of Hanover County Underage Drinking
According to Code of 4.1-305 of the laws of Virginia, it’s illegal for a person below the age of 21 to purchase, possess or consume alcoholic beverages such as beer, wine, or liquor. Anyone who breaks these laws will be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor offense. Most Class 1 misdemeanor offenses carry a fine of up $2,500, up to 12 months in jail, 50 hours of community service or a mandatory fine of $500, a permanent criminal record, and a license suspension of at least 6 months.
What Are The Penalties For Underage Drinking In Hanover Virginia?
Hanover County VA Underage Possession of Alcohol is A Class 1 Misdemeanor Which Can Result in:
- A fine of up $2,500
- Up to 12 months in jail
- A permanent criminal record
- License suspension of at least 6 months.
Contact a Hanover County VA Underage Possession of Alcohol
The secondary consequences of a criminal conviction are even more severe. For instance, you might you might be expelled from your school or even a sports team, if you are found guilty of underage drinking or possession of alcohol. Also, many schools in Virginia have a zero tolerance policy when it comes to a misdemeanor conviction. Therefore, you can be kicked out of your school or even miss out on a sports or educational scholarship. Just because you are a minor, you should not expect the courts to treat you leniently. As you can see, the consequences are definitely serious. You need to lawyer up as soon as you’ve been charged with underage drinking or possession of alcohol.
Virginia Legal Codes – By The Legal Statues:
Virginia code 4.1-305 states if you’re under 21:
You can’t drink, purchase, or possess alcohol.
You can’t use a fake ID or someone else’s ID.
If convicted, you could get a $500 fine and/or be forced to perform community service. You could even lose your driver’s license.
Virginia code 4.3-306 states:
It is a Class 1 Misdemeanor to buy or give alcohol to anyone under the age of 21.
If found guilty, you could lose your driver’s license, serve jail time up to a year and pay a fine up to $2,500.
Virginia code 18.2-266.1 states:
If you are under 21 and caught driving with a blood alcohol level of .02 or more, you can be charged with DUI. If you are over 21, the legal limit is .08.
If found guilty, you could lose your driver’s license for a year, be ordered to pay a $500 fine and/or be required to perform community service.
Virginia code 4.1-309 states:
No one is allowed to possess or drink alcohol on school property.
Virginia code 22.1- 279.3:1 states:
If you are caught with alcohol in your possession or in your system at school, the law says the school staff must report it to local law enforcement. You will be charged with possession of alcohol
Alcohol First Offender Program
If you are a first offender and you are facing an underage drinking charge, a judge might put you into a 6-month probation program. Under this program, the case will continue for up to 6 to 12 months. During the probation period, the judge can suspend your driver’s license and order you to submit to regular alcohol tests. You usually are required to undertake community service as well.
At the end of this period, the judge can dismiss the case or drop the charges, meaning that you might not be convicted of underage drinking and possession of alcohol. Even if there will be no conviction, the charge will remain on your records. Even if the charges might be dropped, the record will not be able to be expunged, meaning it will always come up during background checks. If you, your child, your friend or someone close to you has been arrested and charged with underage drinking, you should talk to a Hanover VA underage possession of alcohol lawyer right away.
Why Us – Choose The Right Hanover County VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
If you or your child is facing these charges, then you need to consult The Weiland Firm, PLC. As one of the best Hanover County VA underage possession of alcohol lawyers, we are highly experienced and skilled when it comes to defending young adults and minors, who are facing underage possession and consumption of alcohol charges. A conviction of underage possession and consumption of alcohol carries serious consequences, both current and long-term. As much as you might not end up in jail, a criminal conviction stays on your records forever.
Therefore, if someone runs a background check on you, your criminal record will show up. For instance, whenever you apply for a job, most employers will conduct background checks on you. And once your criminal conviction shows up during those background checks, it’s highly likely that you will not get the opportunity – at least if your closest competitor has a clean record. Therefore, it’s important to work with experienced criminal defense attorneys such as those at The Weiland Firm, PLC, who have handled similar cases before.
At the law office of The Weiland Firm, PLC, we have every reason to believe that we can handle the criminal charges that you are facing. As much as we’ve handled similar cases before and successfully defended our clients, we don’t guarantee any outcome. Every case presented before a court of law is unique. However, we promise that we will work aggressively and provide you with the legal representation that you need to deal with underage drinking charges. Whether you or your child is facing underage possession and consumption of alcohol charges, we are confident that we can obtain a favorable outcome for your case. Throughout our years of practice, we have helped dozens of minors and young adults charged with underage drinking in Hanover County and throughout Virginia.
Once you reach out to us, we will listen to you carefully as you explain the circumstances that led to the arrest or issuance of summons. After that, we will then assess your case and present you with the best approach. Our approach has always been respectful, honest and non-judgmental. We will also advise you on how best to proceed in the case after we have carefully weighed all the options on the table. At The Weiland Firm, PLC, you can always count on a dependable and clear assessment of what our legal services will cost. However, you can rest assured that our prices are highly competitive – especially when compared with the services that we offer.
Our Lawyers are experienced, tried and tested criminal defense attorneys, with a stellar track record for Hanover County VA Underage Possession of Alcohol cases. Also, we understand that no amount of aggressiveness can replace knowledge and expertise. If you would like to consult a Hanover VA underage possession of alcohol lawyer who understands the criminal justice system and has your best interests at heart, then you should contact The Weiland Firm, PLC. Don’t wait until it’s too late or even attempt to fight the charges on your own. You need someone by your side who understands the court system, criminal proceedings as well as other matters related to underage drinking and possession of alcohol. From the moment you contact us about your arrest for underage drinking, to the end of your trial, our decades of legal practice and expertise is put to work for you. We ensure that your rights are protected and respected in court.
Contact Us Today call us at (804) 355-8037
When anyone below the age of 21 is charged with underage drinking and possession in Hanover VA, it might not seem like a serious problem. However, if they are found guilty and convicted, they will face serious legal problems as well as lifelong consequences, which will eventually affect them in future. Therefore, getting professional legal representation, should be the first thing for anyone who has been charged with underage drinking or possession of alcohol.
If you need professional, experienced and serious legal counsel for your child, you should contact the law firm of The Weiland Firm, PLC. We are seasoned criminal defense lawyers, who will work hard to find the best possible outcome for your child. We will work with you every step of the way, and try to come up with a proactive defense strategy which will safeguard your child’s future. Our Attorneys believe in providing competitive pricing, responsive communication, and professional legal services for all our clients. If you are facing underage drinking violations, contact us today and schedule a free initial consultation.
Find Out More:
Richmond Va Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Chesterfield County Va Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Henrico County Va Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Glen Allen Va Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer