Greensville County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

  • Home
  • Greensville County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

Greensville County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

(804) 355-8037

In Greensville County, VA, underage possession and underage consumption of alcohol are taken very seriously by local law enforcement so drinking, possessing, buying or transporting alcohol as anyone under 21 years of age comes with great risk. It’s more than a ticket in Greensville County, VA. It’s a crime with serious consequences attached.

In Greensville County, VA, much as in the rest of Virginia, it’s a Class 1 Misdemeanor to possess or consume alcohol as a minor. The only exception being when the minor is on private property accompanied and supervised by a parent or guardian. For every minor not in that situation, it’s a serious crime to drink or possess alcohol in Greensville County. Breaking that law may cost you more than you’re willing to pay as a young person.

If you or your child have recently been charged with underage possession of alcohol or underage consumption of alcohol you should think twice about trying to defend yourself or your child in court. The penalties for failure are too severe to risk it. Better to leave the defense and negotiations to a proven underage possession of alcohol attorney like the ones you’ll find at The Weiland Firm, PLC.

Applicable Laws For Underage Possession of Alcohol In Greensville County, VA

In Greensville County, VA, minors who are charged with underage consumption or underage possession of alcohol are facing a Class 1 Misdemeanor. This applies to anyone trying to buy alcohol as a minor, as well as anyone knowingly selling alcohol to anyone under the age of 21. Doing that can lead to a Class 3 Misdemeanor which comes with even higher fines and stiffer penalties. No matter what circumstances led to you or your child being charged with underage drinking or underage possession of alcohol in Greensville County, VA will have an uphill battle ahead of them to win their case or see it reduced to something they can stomach. The Weiland Firm, PLC represents minors charged with underage consumption of alcohol and underage possession of alcohol in Greensville County, as well as those who have been charged with alcohol-related crimes like selling alcohol to a minor without checking ID

Primary Consequences For Underage Possession of Alcohol & Underage Drinking in Greensville County, Virginia?

Virginia Code Section 4.1-305 Underage Possession of Alcohol

As stated above, underage drinking and possession of alcohol is a misdemeanor offense throughout Virginia and that includes Greensville County. While it is a crime no matter how close you are to turning 21 years of age, the penalties you will face if convicted of underage consumption or underage possession of alcohol in Greensville County, VA will differ depending on whether you are under 18 years of age or between 18 and 21. For starters, those under 18 years of age are considered minors by the court and that will play a role in how the judge administers their case and the penalties attached. For anyone between 18 and 21 years of age, it will be a much tougher row to hoe as the judge will treat you as an adult with the consequences being handed down with that knowledge front-of-mind.

What Happens If You Get Caught Drinking Under 21 In Greensville County, Virginia?

Underage drinking and possession of alcohol are both Class 1 misdemeanor offenses in Greensville County, Virginia. They come with the following penalties attached to conviction:

Between the age of 18 to 20:

  • Receive 12 months in Jail.
  • A Maximum Fine of $2,500.
  • A Minimum Fine of $500.
  • Community Service.
  • Commonly Charged As A Minimum Fine of $500 or 50 Hours of Community Service.

Below the age of 18:

  • Driver’s license will be delayed or suspended for 6 months.
  • Complete a compulsory substance abuse counseling program.

Believe it or not, and many minors don’t, you can be arrested for suspicion of being intoxicated by a law enforcement officer without any alcohol present. All it takes is acting inebriated in their presence and you could be handcuffed and given a choice to go to jail or submit to a breath or blood test. This is not a position you want to find yourself in anywhere in Greensville County, VA. The issue gets worse should you be caught using a fake driver’s license or someone else’s license while trying to purchase alcohol from a store. Even trying to do so is a crime in Greensville County for both the one using the license and the one who let them do it. The risks being what they are all parents know it’s not worth it but kids make mistakes so when your child makes one with underage possession of alcohol in Greensville County, VA just call on The Weiland Firm, PLC for the legal representation they’re going to need.

First Offender Program For Underage Possession of Alcohol In Greensville County, VA

Minors who have been charged with underage consumption of alcohol and underage possession of alcohol in Greensville County, VA and their parents should contact The Weiland Firm, PLC to discuss the alternative sentencing options open to them. Our underage drinking and underage possession of alcohol attorneys can walk you through how pre-conviction probation works for first offenders and help you determine whether your child is a fit for the program. If so, they’ll have to complete both an alcohol education course and community service outlined by the judge, as well as a probationary period during which they cannot get in trouble, but if they do they’ll have their charge dismissed so it does not follow them into college and beyond.

Additional Consequences Of Underage Possession of Alcohol In Greensville County, Virginia

While not immediately obvious, there are more than a few additional consequences that a minor will face when convicted of underage consumption of alcohol or underage possession of alcohol in Greensville County, VA. One has to do with school – both high school and college. Some high schools may suspend your child for a conviction and others may expel them. Being expelled may make it hard to find another school in time to not interrupt your child’s grade schedule. And you might find that colleges and universities will look unfavorably on a student during the admissions process when they have a conviction for underage drinking in Greensville County. There may even be consequences for sports in school and employment after so do the right thing for your child’s future – call The Weiland Firm, PLC right away.

Experienced Greensville County, VA Underage Drinking Attorneys

Kids are kids. They’re going to make mistakes and some of those might involve alcohol. If they should run afoul of law enforcement in Greensville County, VA tied to alcohol possession or alcohol consumption then you’ll want an experienced attorney representing their interests from the earliest moment after their arrest. Underage drinking and underage possession of alcohol, as well as trying to buy alcohol as a minor, are taken extremely seriously by law enforcement and adjudicated harshly by local courts so having one of our proven alcohol attorneys standing beside you and your child is the best choice you can make to avoid the impacts a conviction brings. Our case reviews and consultations are free of charge in Greensville County, VA so make the call to our law office today to get started.

Contact Us Today At (804) 355-8037

When your child’s freedom and future are in danger, consult the effective, experienced and aggressive defense attorneys at The Weiland Firm, PLC. Our Greensville County, VA underage drinking attorneys will handle the case with the seriousness that it deserves. Once your child has been arrested for underage drinking or they are accused of possessing, selling or consuming alcohol in a public space you should contact our law firm right away. Don’t try to plead guilty or even attempt to negotiate for a reduced penalty. Once you do that, you are putting yourself at the mercy of the criminal justice system and the outcome might not be favorable. Contact our law firm for a free case review and we’ll help you schedule a free consultation.

Related Pages:

Greensville County VA Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Henrico County VA Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Hanover County VA Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Glen Allen VA Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

Related Information:

Underage Possession of Alcohol (804) 469-8075 In Virginia, it’s illegal for a person under 21-years old to possess, purchase, or consume any alcoholic beverage such as liquor, wine, and beer (Code of Virginia § 4.1-305).  Our attorneys are highly experienced in defending minors and young adults charged with underage possession of alcohol in Henrico County, Hanover County, the Town of Ashland, Greensville County, Caroline County,…

Underage Possession of Alcohol Charge Dropped The Weiland Firm, PLC represented a VCU student recently in Richmond General District Court on a charge of Underage Possession of Alcohol. In this case, the VCU police department responded to a complaint regarding some activity in a university dorm room. When the the police arrived, they immediately noticed the smell of alcohol in the room where several college students were hanging…

Underage Possession of Alcohol Dismissed in Caroline County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Dismissed in Caroline County, VA Last week, John Weiland of The Weiland Firm, PLC, Attorneys at Law, represented a client charged with Underage Possession of Alcohol a (Class 1 Misdemeanor) in Caroline County, Virginia. Mr. Weiland met with the client and his family and prepared a strategy for the best possible outcome in the case. A criminal…