Goochland County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

  • Home
  • Goochland County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

Goochland County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

(804) 355-8037

The Weiland Firm, PLC has been one of the top law firms for parents of minors charged with underage consumption of alcohol and underage possession of alcohol in Goochland County, VA for well over a decade. We can confirm that underage drinking and possession of alcohol for minors is an extremely serious matter that can have lasting consequences for your child or for any adult still under the age of 21.

Virginia classifies underage consumption of alcohol and underage possession of alcohol as a Class 1 Misdemeanor. This is a significant offense which carries severe penalties for those convicted. It cannot be stressed enough that parents of minors who have been charged with underage drinking or underage possession of alcohol in Goochland County, VA, or those under 21 who were charged as adults, need an experienced lawyer to help them avoid the pitfalls of the local justice system.

When this has happened to you or your child you’re very first move should be to schedule a case review with one of the underage drinking attorneys from The Weiland Firm, PLC. We have successfully defended innumerable minors from underage possession of alcohol and underage consumption of alcohol charges in Goochland County, VA and have strong working relationships with the judges and prosecutors who oversee these cases.

Applicable Laws For Underage Possession of Alcohol In Goochland County, VA

Goochland County, VA, just as in the rest of the Commonwealth of Virginia, views minors and those under the age of 21 drinking alcohol as a crime – a serious one at that. It is prosecuted as a Class 1 Misdemeanor which carries significant penalties and fines if convicted. Attempting to purchase alcohol as a minor – either using a fake ID, a borrowed ID or no ID at all – is also a Class 1 Misdemeanor. Those who knowingly sell alcohol to a minor face a Class 3 Misdemeanor which is even more serious and comes with added penalties that can include jail time of up to 12 months. In short, underage consumption, underage possession and underage attempts to purchase alcohol in Goochland County, VA can land you in hot water. If it happens to you, contact The Weiland Firm, PLC right away.

Primary Consequences For Underage Possession of Alcohol & Underage Drinking in Goochland County, Virginia?

Virginia Code Section 4.1-305 Underage Possession of Alcohol

As a Class 1 Misdemeanor, underage drinking and possession of alcohol can be one of the most impactful crimes your child or a minor under 21 can commit in Goochland County, VA. There are serious, serious consequences for those convicted and that’s intolerable when it’s your child or your future on the line. Again, the penalties attached to underage drinking and underage possession of alcohol go beyond what many expect for something so many do and get away with but there’s nothing make believe about the punishments levied by Goochland County, VA courts against minors who drink, possess or try to buy alcohol within its borders.

What Happens If You Get Caught Drinking Under 21 In Goochland County, Virginia?

Underage drinking and possession of alcohol are Class 1 Misdemeanor offenses in Goochland County, Virginia. If convicted, you can face the following:

Between the age of 18 to 20:

  • Receive 12 months in Jail.
  • A Maximum Fine of $2,500.
  • A Minimum Fine of $500.
  • Community Service.
  • Commonly Charged As A Minimum Fine of $500 or 50 Hours of Community Service.

Below the age of 18:

  • Driver’s license will be delayed or suspended for 6 months.
  • Complete a compulsory substance abuse counseling program.

Minors can also be arrested when not in possession of alcohol if law enforcement has a reason to believe they are intoxicated. In such situations, officers might arrest and then compel minors to submit to a breath or blood test. If test results are positive they will be charged with underage consumption of alcohol. Some minors use fake driving licenses to purchase alcoholic drinks. In Goochland County, VA it’s illegal to possess a manufactured or altered driving license. It’s also illegal to give out your driving license to someone or use someone else’s license to purchase alcohol. If you’re found guilty, you could spend up to 6 months in jail and face other penalties. When it comes to underage possession and consumption of alcohol, Virginia law enforcement officers will not treat you kindly. Therefore, make sure you have experienced legal experts such as the Goochland County, VA underage possession of alcohol lawyers from The Weiland Firm, PLC representing you if you’ve been arrested for such charges.

First Offender Program For Underage Possession of Alcohol In Goochland County, VA

If you have never been convicted of underage consumption or possession of alcohol, you might qualify for alternative sentencing, known as the first offender program or pre-conviction probation. In this program, the defendant will be required to complete an alcohol education program and a certain number of hours of community service. Once defendant completes both programs and without subsequent charges during the probationary period the court can dismiss the charges against them. However, you need an experienced Goochland County, VA underage possession of alcohol attorney who understands how the pre-conviction probation works to make it happen. You’ll find them at The Weiland Firm, PLC.

Additional Consequences Of Underage Possession of Alcohol In Goochland County, Virginia

Apart from the legal consequences, if you’re found guilty of underage possession and consumption of alcohol, you might lose a scholarship or some colleges and universities might deny you admission due to the conviction. Some schools might expel you meaning you could lose a chance to complete your studies, compete in sports or other school programs. If you’re expelled, you might find it hard to be admitted to another since they’ll check records. It’s clear underage possession and consumption of alcohol are serious charges which should not be taken lightly. They will not only affect your studies but might lead to future consequences – such as missing out on various employment opportunities since you didn’t finish school. If your driving license is suspended as a result of underage possession and consumption of alcohol, chances are high that you will have to pay higher insurance premiums once it’s reinstated.

Experienced Goochland County, VA Underage Drinking Attorneys

Teenagers and minors are always experimenting with alcohol. In fact, some consider it as a rite of passage, especially in universities and colleges. However, if you are below the legal drinking age in Virginia and you are arrested by law enforcement officers, don’t expect them to just dump the beers or whatever alcoholic drinks you have, and then drop you home. Underage possession and drinking is illegal in Virginia. And as noted earlier, it’s a Class 1 misdemeanor offense. If you are under the age of 21 and you are found buying, attempting to buy, drinking, transporting or possessing alcohol in Richmond, VA, then you will be charged. And if you are below 18 years, there is a high chance that the law enforcement officers will notify your parents. Weiland and Firm are experienced Goochland County, VA underage possession of alcohol lawyers, who can help with these charges.

Contact Us Today At (804) 355-8037

When your child’s freedom and future are at risk, you should consult effective, experienced and aggressive defense attorneys. And this is Weiland and Firm comes in. Our Goochland County, VA underage drinking attorneys will handle the case with the seriousness that it deserves. Once your child has been arrested for underage drinking or they are accused of possession, selling or consuming alcohol in a public space, you should contact our attorneys right away. Don’t try to plead guilty or even attempt to negotiate for a reduced penalty. Once you do that, you are already putting yourself at the mercy of the criminal justice system, and the outcome might not be favorable. Contact our law firm for a free case review and we will schedule a free consultation.

Related Pages:

Goochland County VA Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Henrico County VA Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Hanover County VA Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Glen Allen VA Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

Related Information:

Underage Possession of Alcohol (804) 469-8075 In Virginia, it’s illegal for a person under 21-years old to possess, purchase, or consume any alcoholic beverage such as liquor, wine, and beer (Code of Virginia § 4.1-305).  Our attorneys are highly experienced in defending minors and young adults charged with underage possession of alcohol in Henrico County, Hanover County, the Town of Ashland, Goochland County, Caroline County,…

Underage Possession of Alcohol Charge Dropped The Weiland Firm, PLC represented a VCU student recently in Richmond General District Court on a charge of Underage Possession of Alcohol. In this case, the VCU police department responded to a complaint regarding some activity in a university dorm room. When the the police arrived, they immediately noticed the smell of alcohol in the room where several college students were hanging…

Underage Possession of Alcohol Dismissed in Caroline County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Dismissed in Caroline County, VA Last week, John Weiland of The Weiland Firm, PLC, Attorneys at Law, represented a client charged with Underage Possession of Alcohol a (Class 1 Misdemeanor) in Caroline County, Virginia. Mr. Weiland met with the client and his family and prepared a strategy for the best possible outcome in the case. A criminal…