Dinwiddie County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

  • Home
  • Dinwiddie County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

Dinwiddie County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

(804) 355-8037

Was your child arrested for underage drinking or possession of alcohol in Dinwiddie County, VA? That’s a very serious charge and needs to be fought in court and at the negotiating table by an experienced underage drinking and underage possession of alcohol law firm – like The Weiland Firm, PLC. We’ve been helping parents with underage drinking cases in Dinwiddie County, VA for more than a decade.

Classified as a Class 1 Misdemeanor, an underage drinking or underage possession of alcohol charge in Dinwiddie County, VA is nothing to accept or ignore. And it applies to every minor so anyone drinking under the age of 21 can be charged. The one exception is for minors drinking with their parents supervision at a private property. Everyone else must be 21 or older to legally drink in Dinwiddie County, VA.

If your child has been charged with underage drinking or underage possession of alcohol in Dinwiddie County, VA the first thing to do is not panic. The second thing to do is to call on the underage drinking attorneys from The Weiland Firm, PLC for sound legal advice and winning legal strategies. Case reviews and consultations come at no cost to you or your child.

Applicable Laws For Underage Possession of Alcohol In Dinwiddie County, VA

To better illustrate how serious an underage drinking or underage possession of alcohol charge is in Dinwiddie County, VA, let’s look at the penalties your child could face if convicted for the offense. It starts with hefty fines that can goi all the way up to $2,500. Follow that up with up to 12 months in jail and you begin to understand the seriousness of the charge facing your child. The penalties differ when the offender is under 18 as then they’re considered a minor by the court. Those over 18 but under 21 will be facing an adult charge and one that may turn out differently than they expect. Remember, it’s a crime for anyone under 21 to consume or possess alcohol in Dinwiddie County, VA and the law enforcement officers who enforce those laws do not play around. You need The Weiland Firm, PLC if you want any chance at securing the outcome your child’s future may depend on.

Primary Consequences For Underage Possession of Alcohol & Underage Drinking in Amelia County, Virginia?

Virginia Code Section 4.1-305 Underage Possession of Alcohol

In Dinwiddie County, VA, underage possession of alcohol is a crime classified as a Class 1 Misdemeanor. This charge is one of the most serious your child can face in Virginia and requires immediate and experienced legal assistance to beat in court. Conviction for underage possession of alcohol or underage drinking could mean enormous fines and jail time. The judge in your child’s case has a lot of power to determine what happens both in court and afterward so it pays to have an underage drinking attorney with strong working relationships with those in charge of the case – like the underage possession of alcohol attorneys at The Weiland Firm, PLC. We protect our clients and their parents from all that can come from a conviction.

What Happens If You Get Caught Drinking Under 21 In Amelia County, Virginia?

Underage drinking and possession of alcohol are Class 1 misdemeanor offenses in Virginia that may result in the following penalties:

Between the age of 18 to 20:

  • Receive 12 months in Jail.
  • A Maximum Fine of $2,500.
  • A Minimum Fine of $500.
  • Community Service.
  • Commonly Charged As A Minimum Fine of $500 or 50 Hours of Community Service.

Below the age of 18:

  • Driver’s license will be delayed or suspended for 6 months.
  • Complete a compulsory substance abuse counseling program.

You can be arrested even if you’re not in possession of alcohol if law enforcement officers believe you’re intoxicated in Dinwiddie County, VA. In these situations, officers might arrest your child and compel them to submit to a breath or blood test. If results are positive, then you’ll be charged with underage consumption of alcohol. Minors using fake driver’s licenses to purchase alcoholic drinks in Dinwiddie County, VA could face a world of trouble too. It’s illegal to possess a manufactured or altered driving license in the Commonwealth. It’s also illegal to give your driving license to someone or use someone else’s license to buy alcohol anywhere. If found guilty, you could spend up to 6 months in jail along with various other penalties. When it comes to underage possession and consumption of alcohol, Virginia law enforcement officers will not treat you kindly. Therefore, make sure you have experienced legal experts like the Dinwiddie County, VA under age possession of alcohol lawyers from The Weiland Firm, PLC representing you if your child has been arrested for such charges.

First Offender Program For Underage Possession of Alcohol In Dinwiddie County, VA

Been convicted of underage consumption or possession of alcohol in Dinwiddie County, VA? You may qualify for alternative sentencing and having The Weiland Firm, PLC representing you may make it easier. Known locally as the first offender program or pre-conviction probation, this program allows the defendant to complete an alcohol education program and a certain number of hours of community service to have a chance at their charge being dismissed. Once your child completes both programs and doesn’t have further charges during the probation period the court will dismiss the charge. However, it’s imperative you work with an experienced Dinwiddie County, VA underage possession of alcohol attorney who understands how the pre-conviction probation works – like those from The Weiland Firm, PLC.

Additional Consequences Of Underage Possession of Alcohol In Amelia County, Virginia

Apart from legal consequences, being found guilty of underage possession or consumption of alcohol can cause a whole other host of problems for your child. Some colleges or universities might deny admission due to the conviction. Some schools might expel your child completely, meaning they could lose a chance to complete their studies and even compete in sports or other school programs. If expelled from school, your child may find it hard to be admitted to another one since they’ll check records. As you can see, underage possession and consumption of alcohol are serious charges which you should never take lightly. They can affect your child’s studies but also may lead to future consequences – such as missing out on various employment opportunities. Don’t let this happen to your child. Call The Weiland Firm, PLC as soon as they’ve been charged with underage possession or consumption of alcohol in Dinwiddie County, VA.

Experienced Dinwiddie County, VA Underage Drinking Attorneys

Minors will always experiment with alcohol. In fact, some consider it a rite of passage – especially in universities and colleges. However, being below the legal drinking age in Dinwiddie County, VA  and consuming or possessing alcohol you shouldn’t expect law enforcement officers who catch you to dump the alcoholic drinks and drop you home. Underage possession of alcohol and drinking is illegal in Virginia. And as noted earlier, it’s a Class 1 misdemeanor offense. If you are under the age of 21 and found buying, attempting to buy, drinking, transporting or possessing alcohol in Dinwiddie County, VA, then you’ll be charged – no question about it. If you’re below 18 years of age, there’s a good chance law enforcement will notify your parents. They should then contact The Weiland Firm to speak with one of our experienced Dinwiddie County, VA underage possession of alcohol lawyers.

Contact Us Today At (804) 355-8037

When your child’s freedom and future are at risk, you need to consult effective, experienced and aggressive defense attorneys like those you’ll find at The Weiland Firm, PLC. Our Dinwiddie County, VA underage drinking attorneys will handle the case with the seriousness that it deserves from the moment your child has been arrested for underage drinking or accused of possessing, selling or consuming alcohol in a public space. Don’t try to plead guilty or negotiate for a reduced penalty. Once you do that, you’re putting yourself at the mercy of the criminal justice system and the outcome might not be favorable. Contact our law firm instead for a free case review and let our team schedule a free consultation.

Related Pages:

Dinwiddie County Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Henrico County Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Hanover County Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Glen Allen Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

Related Information:

Underage Possession of Alcohol (804) 469-8075 In Virginia, it’s illegal for a person under 21-years old to possess, purchase, or consume any alcoholic beverage such as liquor, wine, and beer (Code of Virginia § 4.1-305).  Our attorneys are highly experienced in defending minors and young adults charged with underage possession of alcohol in Henrico County, Hanover County, the Town of Ashland, Dinwiddie County, Caroline County,…

Underage Possession of Alcohol Charge Dropped The Weiland Firm, PLC represented a VCU student recently in Richmond General District Court on a charge of Underage Possession of Alcohol. In this case, the VCU police department responded to a complaint regarding some activity in a university dorm room. When the the police arrived, they immediately noticed the smell of alcohol in the room where several college students were hanging…

Underage Possession of Alcohol Dismissed in Caroline County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Dismissed in Caroline County, VA Last week, John Weiland of The Weiland Firm, PLC, Attorneys at Law, represented a client charged with Underage Possession of Alcohol a (Class 1 Misdemeanor) in Caroline County, Virginia. Mr. Weiland met with the client and his family and prepared a strategy for the best possible outcome in the case. A criminal…