Dinwiddie County VA Reckless Driving Lawyers

Dinwiddie County VA Reckless Driving Lawyers

804-355-8037

Most Virginia drivers are fully aware of their responsibilities and rights on the road. However, there is still a huge number of drivers that don’t know that driving beyond the posted speed limit on a highway could lead to criminal charges. In Virginia, reckless driving is considered as a Class 1 misdemeanor offense. If charged you need a Dinwiddie County Va Reckless Driving Lawyers as soon as possible. Dinwiddie County Va

A class 1 misdemeanor charge is the most serious offense under state law. Therefore, when convicted, you are facing significant legal and administrative penalties. These penalties include spending time in jail, demerit points against your driving license as well as suspension of your license. As you can see, this charge cannot be taken lightly. Once you have been charged, contact Dinwiddie County Virginia reckless driving lawyers at Weiland Upton, and let them take matters from there. They have the necessary skills and experience to defend you in court and help you avoid the stiff penalties.

If you were arrested or given a summons please call one of our experienced attorneys at 804-355-8037

Reckless Driving in Dinwiddie County Virginia

According to state laws, reckless driving is defined as driving in a way that can cause injury, loss of lives or property damage. Reckless speeding is one of the most common types of reckless driving in Dinwiddie County. Virginia code defines reckless driving as driving more than 20 mph above the allowed speed limit. Therefore, if you are driving 20 mph or more, beyond an area’s maximum speed limit, then you could be liable to reckless driving.

For example, if the allowed speed limit in a city is 25 mph and you are driving at 50 mph, then you could face this charge. Also, a reckless driving charge also applies to those driving over 80 mph, especially when driving on a freeway. Other forms of reckless driving in Dinwiddie County, VA, include; passing a stopped school bus, drag racing, driving with faulty brakes, failure to signal, failing to yield to an emergency vehicle, passing a stopped school bus, and driving with an obstructed view, among others.

Reckless Driving Penalties

A reckless driving charge is a serious offense in Virginia. If convicted, you are facing a one-year jail term, a fine of $2500 or a suspension of your driving license. Most people don’t understand the seriousness of this charge until they have appeared before a judge. Reckless driving is same as driving under the influence. For subsequent offenses, then you may face enhanced penalties such as suspension of your driving privileges for a long period. Apart from the legal penalties, you will also incur heavy automobile insurance premiums.

You should also note that when you are convicted of reckless driving, you will have a permanent criminal record. Unlike the fines where you can pay and leave, a criminal record stays with you forever. It will always appear when people are conducting background checks on you. Such a record can deny you employment opportunities, loans, and good education opportunities. You can also be denied housing due to your criminal record. Therefore, if you have been charged with reckless driving, it is important to treat this matter with the seriousness it deserves. If you are a first-time offender, you may not be aware of the serious consequences ahead.

Punitive actions that can come from Speeding or Reckless Driving convictions include:

  • Monetary and financial fines for the offense including court costs.
  • Higher auto insurance monthly premiums
  • Suspension or loss of driving privileges depending upon your conviction or prior driving record.
  • Jail sentence for serious driving issues.

Under the Commonwealth of Virginia laws the maximum penalty for a Reckless Driving conviction the penalties may include:
(1) you may receive up to 1 year in jail
(2) you may receive up to 6 months suspension of your driver’s license / privileges
(3)  you may receive a total of 6 points on a Virginia driver’s license
(4) you may receive up to a $2,500.00 fine.

Accomplished Dinwiddie County Va Reckless Driving Lawyers

Most people who have been charged with reckless driving for the first time, commit the mistake of taking this charge lightly. You cannot blame them since they assume it is a simple traffic citation, which can be resolved via a fine. However, a reckless driving charge cannot be dismissed through a simple fine. It is considered a class 1 misdemeanor offense. You are therefore facing extensive fines, possible jail time, suspension of your driving license as well as a permanent criminal record.

If you are faced with a summons from Dinwiddie County Va, it is in your best interest to consult a knowledgeable and experienced Traffic Attorney. Call one of our experienced traffic lawyers at 804-355-8037

Once you have been arrested and charged, the best approach is to consult a Dinwiddie County VA reckless driving lawyers. They will explore the options before you and come up with the most appropriate strategy to deal with the case and possibly avoid disastrous consequences. The stakes are much higher when you are facing a reckless driving charge. At Weiland & Upton, we will deal with your case with effort and intensity it deserves. We will first discuss the case with you in order to understand the situation and come up with the most appropriate approach.

We offer a free consultation during the initial stages, to all our prospective clients. We can then discuss the circumstances surrounding your case, as well as your expectations in court. There are numerous legal routes available. However, we only explore the ones that will result in the most friendly outcome for our clients. During our free initial consultation, we ask our clients to provide all the information associated with the case. Once we assess that information, we can then plan a defense for your case. The more time the attorneys have to assess your case, the higher the chances of putting together a successful and effective defense.

Experienced Reckless Driving Lawyers

When you have been charged with reckless driving in Dinwiddie County, your case will most likely be heard in the local district court. Having been in business for many years in Virginia, we have represented hundreds of clients before this court. We know the rules and legal procedures applied. We also know our way around the court system. Once you are accused of these criminal charges, our main task is ensuring you get a fair treatment during the trial. We will also make sure your rights are always protected. As your defense attorneys, we will work diligently to secure the best possible outcome for your case.

Why Weiland Upton

One of the main reasons why many people prefer working with us is our proven track record of success. Although we don’t promise any outcomes for any case, we have successfully defended hundreds of clients facing similar charges. We understand every case is unique and we don’t guarantee similar outcomes. However, we will treat your case with the seriousness and urgency it deserves. We will then use our combined experience to present a formidable defense before the judges.

Contact Us Today

As experienced criminal defense attorneys, we are ready and fully equipped to handle your reckless driving case, regardless of its complexity. Your case requires a strong defense strategy, to fight the conviction as well as the associated consequences. Finding a reputable reckless driving lawyer in Dinwiddie County is as easy as contacting us today and scheduling a free consultation. Call 804-355-8037