Chesterfield County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

  • Home
  • Chesterfield County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

Chesterfield County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

(804) 355-8037

Has your child been charged with underage drinking in Chesterfield County, VA? Was it underage possession of alcohol or public intoxication instead? No matter what Chesterfield County, VA law enforcement is charging your child with you’re going to need an experienced underage drinking attorney fighting for them in and out of court to avoid the worst penalties that come with a conviction.

Chesterfield County, just as in every county in Virginia, charges underage drinking and underage possession of alcohol as crimes – Class 1 Misdemeanors to be more specific. This is a serious crime and the only exceptions are when a minor is supervised by a parent or guardian while drinking on private property. Any minor not in these circumstances and caught in possession of alcohol or arrested for suspected intoxication needs a good attorney fast – like those from The Weiland Firm, PLC.

When your child finds themselves charged with underage drinking or underage possession of alcohol then you have one call to make to protect your child from the consequences of their actions – call The Weiland Firm, PLC. We will aggressively defend your child from the charges in Chesterfield County, VA and find a solution that delivers a positive outcome for your child’s future.

Applicable Laws For Underage Possession of Alcohol In Chesterfield County, VA

In Chesterfield County, VA, no minors may legally drink, possess or buy alcohol for any reason unless under specific circumstances where their parents are directly supervising them on private property. For every other minor in Chesterfield County it’s illegal. It’s a Class 1 Misdemeanor which can lead to drastic penalties and even jail time if the judge decides it. It’s illegal to sell alcohol to a minor knowingly or even to do so without properly checking ID. Conviction for that particular crime can lead to 12 months in jail and up to $2,500 in fines. That’s why store clerks must be hyper-vigilant when it comes to checking IDs in Chesterfield County, VA. Not doing so could lead to a world of trouble.

Primary Consequences For Underage Possession of Alcohol & Underage Drinking in Amelia County, Virginia?

Virginia Code Section 4.1-305 Underage Possession of Alcohol

So, how does Chesterfield County, VA define underage possession of alcohol? Who can be charged? While you can always call the underage drinking attorneys at The Weiland Firm, PLC to ask this question directly, the answer is actually pretty straightforward. Anyone under the age of 21 who buys, possesses or drinks alcohol can be charged. The penalties for those charged in Chesterfield County, VA vary depending on the child’s age so those under 18 are treated as juveniles while those over 18 are treated as adults. And treated harshly in both cases. Convictions for these offenses carry really severe penalties for doing something which almost everyone has done at one point in their childhood. That’s why having one of the underage drinking attorneys from The Weiland Firm, PLC standing beside you is so important to avoiding the worst the court can demand.

What Happens If You Get Caught Drinking Under 21 In Amelia County, Virginia?

Underage drinking and possession of alcohol – Class 1 misdemeanor offenses in Virginia

Between the age of 18 to 20:

  • Receive 12 months in Jail.
  • A Maximum Fine of $2,500.
  • A Minimum Fine of $500.
  • Community Service.
  • Commonly Charged As A Minimum Fine of $500 or 50 Hours of Community Service.

Below the age of 18:

  • Driver’s license will be delayed or suspended for 6 months.
  • Complete a compulsory substance abuse counseling program.

Thinking about your child being charged with underage drinking or underage possession of alcohol in Chesterfield County, VA can be terrifying. The underage drinking attorneys from The Weiland Firm, PLC understand that and are not trying to frighten parents, but to educate them on just how important it is to have talks with their kids about underage drinking in Chesterfield County, VA. Tell them they don’t even have to be caught with alcohol to be charged. A law enforcement officer can simply believe they’re intoxicated to arrest them. They can be compelled to take a blood or breath test when your not with them and that could lead to even more problems down the road. While it would be best if every child avoiding underage drinking in Chesterfield County, VA that’s not going to happen so preparing them for the worst and securing underage drinking representation from The Weiland Firm, PLC offer you the best chance at helping your child miss out on the consequences of a common mistake.

First Offender Program For Underage Possession of Alcohol In Chesterfield County, VA

Should the worst happen and your child gets charged with underage drinking or underage possession of alcohol then there may be a light at the end of the tunnel. The Weiland Firm, PLC can explain further during a free case review and consultation but the gist of it is that Chesterfield County, VA offers what’s known as a first offender program. This is like a pre-conviction probation agreement that expects your child to complete two important steps. First, they attend an alcohol education course. Second, they perform a specified number of hours of community service. If they can complete those steps and stay out of trouble for the probationary period then they’ll have the charges dismissed by the court and go on without any blemish on their record.

Additional Consequences Of Underage Possession of Alcohol In Amelia County, Virginia

The last thing we need to discuss when it comes to an underage drinking or underage possession of alcohol conviction in Chesterfield County, VA is the lasting effects it can have on your child’s life. If they’re in school they may face suspension or worse – expulsion. Being expelled can wreak havoc on their education timeline and prospects and might even make it tough to find another school to attend. It could make some colleges and universities look askew at their applications. After all, they’ll have access to your child’s criminal record and a conviction for underage possession of alcohol in Chesterfield County, VA will show up. Job offers may be affected too as many employers look over criminal records before making hiring decisions. Help your child avoids this with representation for underage drinking in Chesterfield County, VA from the top-flight attorneys at The Weiland Firm, PLC.

Experienced Chesterfield County, VA Underage Drinking Attorneys

Let’s face it. Kids make mistakes and they’ll make them with alcohol in Chesterfield County, VA. When that happens to your child, you’re not alone and don’t have to face the music by yourself. In fact, you can turn the tune into a sweet one with underage drinking representation from the attorneys at The Weiland Firm, PLC. We’ve helped so many parents navigate the underage possession of alcohol court process to their benefit and will advocate tirelessly for your child’s best interests – whether that’s a diversionary program, a lesser penalty or a win in court. Located in Richmond, Virginia, The Weiland Firm, PLC is right near you with the expertise and know-how you’ll need to get to the right legal outcome for your child in Chesterfield County, VA.

Contact Us Today At (804) 355-8037

Your child’s freedom and future are at risk. You need to consult with effective, experienced and aggressive defense attorneys. No law firm in Virginia matches that description more than The Weiland Firm, PLC. Our Chesterfield County, VA underage drinking attorneys will handle your child’s case with the seriousness that it deserves so as soon as your child has been arrested for underage drinking or have been accused of possessing, selling or consuming alcohol in a public space contact our attorneys right away. Don’t plead guilty. Don’t attempt to negotiate for a reduced penalty. By doing that, you’re putting yourself at the mercy of the criminal justice system and the outcome could go badly for you. Instead, contact The Weiland Firm, PLC for a free case review.

Related Pages:

Chesterfield County Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Henrico County Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Hanover County Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Glen Allen Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

Related Information:

Underage Possession of Alcohol (804) 469-8075 In Virginia, it’s illegal for a person under 21-years old to possess, purchase, or consume any alcoholic beverage such as liquor, wine, and beer (Code of Virginia § 4.1-305).  Our attorneys are highly experienced in defending minors and young adults charged with underage possession of alcohol in Henrico County, Hanover County, the Town of Ashland, Chesterfield County, Caroline County,…

Underage Possession of Alcohol Charge Dropped The Weiland Firm, PLC represented a VCU student recently in Richmond General District Court on a charge of Underage Possession of Alcohol. In this case, the VCU police department responded to a complaint regarding some activity in a university dorm room. When the the police arrived, they immediately noticed the smell of alcohol in the room where several college students were hanging…

Underage Possession of Alcohol Dismissed in Caroline County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Dismissed in Caroline County, VA Last week, John Weiland of The Weiland Firm, PLC, Attorneys at Law, represented a client charged with Underage Possession of Alcohol a (Class 1 Misdemeanor) in Caroline County, Virginia. Mr. Weiland met with the client and his family and prepared a strategy for the best possible outcome in the case. A criminal…