Chesterfield County VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Sometimes, young people make mistakes, as they move from one stage of life to the other. At The Weiland Firm, PLC, we recognize that while these mistakes are often minor, they can end up being criminal charges that have a lasting effect on one’s life. We work diligently with our clients, as well as their families, to obtain an outcome that will minimize any potential negative effect on a child’s opportunities, such as in employment or education, once they become adults. One of the most common charges that minors in Virginia face is underage drinking. In Virginia, possession or consumption of alcoholic beverages is illegal for anyone under the age of 21. A conviction for this crime can lead to immediate negative consequences in a person’s life including jail time, hefty fines, mandatory community service, and suspension of a driver’s license. The minor can also miss out on various opportunities later in life, as a result of a mistake they committed when they were young.
If you, your family member, your friend, or your child has been arrested or given a ticket and charged with underage drinking and possession of alcohol, you need to contact a Chesterfield County underage possession of alcohol lawyer immediately. Our criminal defense attorneys will aggressively defend anyone under 21 who has been charged with underage possession and consumption of alcohol, to ensure their lives are not ruined forever. There are usually quite a few options in defending these types of cases. We have many years of experience when it comes to criminal defense in Chesterfield County Virginia. When you need a Chesterfield County VA underage possession of alcohol attorney, call The Weiland Firm, PLC today, and we will be more than happy to listen to your issue and help you in the best way possible.
Chesterfield County Va Consequences of Underage Drinking
In Chesterfield County and other areas of Virginia, underage drinking laws are quite complex. However, it’s a Class 1 misdemeanor for anyone under the age of 21 to buy, consume or possess alcohol. As a Class 1 misdemeanor, underage drinking and possession of alcohol carries serious penalties such as a fine of up to 2,500, up to 12 months in jail, and 50 hours of community service.
Your driver’s license can also be suspended for 6 months. If your driver’s license is suspended after being convicted of underage drinking and possession of alcohol, you will have to pay a replacement fee as well as additional court fees. If you use your car to go to school, work or other commitments every day, then you will be highly inconvenienced. The good news is that our criminal defense attorneys can negotiate with the court so that you can get a restricted driving license although we often succeed at avoiding a license suspension in the first place. If the court grants you restricted driving privileges, then you will be allowed to use your car in various situations such as attending work, counseling sessions, school or any other place where you will need to drive. However, you should note that it’s not a guarantee that the court will grant you restricted driving privileges, and that’s why you need an experienced Chesterfield County underage possession of alcohol attorney to represent you.
Apart from the legal penalties, being found guilty of underage drinking and possession of alcohol can lead to other serious consequences. For instance, you might be expelled from school, meaning that you might not complete high school or college. Also, some colleges and universities run background checks on all their applicants. Therefore, if your criminal conviction comes up, you might miss out on some of these opportunities. Also, some employers might deny you an opportunity to work in their companies due to your criminal conviction. Apart from that, you might end up missing out on educational scholarships, due to some mistakes that you made when you were young.
As you can see, these penalties and consequences are severe, and you should not take them lightly. If you are convicted, these consequences might haunt you forever. As soon as you have been arrested, call an attorney. Don’t admit to anything in order to try to talk your way out of the charge. Don’t just plead guilty without a criminal lawyer reviewing your case for possible defenses and deals. Call the law firm of The Weiland Firm, PLC and we will advise you accordingly.
What happens if you get caught drinking under 21 in Chesterfield County Virginia?
- Underage drinking and possession of alcohol
- Is a Class 1 misdemeanor offense in Virginia
Between the age of 18 to 20
- Receive 12 months in jail
- A Maximum Fine of $2,500.
- A Minimum Fine of $500
- Community Service
- Commonly Receive a Minimum fine of $500 or 50 hours of community service.
Below the age of 18
- Driver’s license will be delayed or suspended for 6 months.
- Complete a compulsory substance abuse counseling program.
Chesterfield County Va Underage Drinking First Offender Program
If you are above 18 and the underage drinking charge is your first major criminal offense, you might be eligible for the first offender program. Once a judge recommends you for this program, you will spend at least 6 to 8 months under probation. During the probation period, you will be required to complete counseling programs, educational courses, community service as well as any other course of action that the judge recommends.
Also, you will be required to submit to regular drug and alcohol testing. If you complete the probation program successfully, the court will likely dismiss the charge. Although the charge will be dismissed, however, it doesn’t mean that it will be expunged from your records. Your criminal charge will still show up whenever someone runs background checks on you. The records can only be expunged if you are acquitted or wrongfully accused – NOT when you get it dismissed due to the First Offender’s program. Whether you’ve been accused of selling alcohol to a minor or you have been arrested and charged with underage possession of alcohol, you should talk to our Chesterfield County underage possession of alcohol lawyers. Our criminal defense attorney will assess your charges, and then advise you on the best course of action to take.
Chesterfield County Va Experienced Underage Drinking Attorneys
Minors may find various ways to obtain, purchase or drink alcoholic beverages, and it might appear like something normal to do, especially among peers. Also, most young people may not realize the serious consequences they might face once they have been arrested or given a summons and charged with underage drinking or possession of alcohol. Unfortunately, ignorance of the law or immaturity are not valid defenses against criminal violations. Therefore, if your child is facing such charges, you need to contact someone who understands the Virginia criminal justice system. And this is where The Weiland Firm, PLC comes in. As one of the best Chesterfield County underage possession of alcohol attorneys, we represent defendants of all ages, who are facing these criminal charges. We have the resources, the skills and the expertise needed to mount an aggressive and effective defense for anyone facing underage drinking or possession charges. Whether your case involves representation at trial, or a plea bargain, we are committed to represent your best interests. Sometimes a trial is the right answer, sometimes the First Offender program, and sometimes, we figure out something else entirely. Each case is different.
If you are facing underage drinking and possession of alcohol, it’s time to lawyer up and talk to Chesterfield County underage drinking attorneys. The possible consequences of underage drinking are jail time, heavy fines as well as a suspended license. Also, a conviction can lead to community service, probation, and mandatory counseling. It’s important to note that an underage drinking conviction is a criminal charge, and can haunt the person forever. It can affect college entrance, educational scholarships as well as future employment opportunities. Our criminal defense attorneys have practiced law in Chesterfield County and throughout Virginia for many years. During that period, we’ve represented numerous clients, who have been charged with underage drinking. If you are facing this charge or your child has been arrested and charged with underage drinking or possession of alcohol, we are here to help.
You might be asking yourself why the need for legal representation for an offense that appears small. The truth is, law enforcement officers, prosecutors, and judges in Chesterfield County, VA, treat underage drinking charges seriously. Therefore, you shouldn’t expect them to be lenient on someone, just because they are minors. In their mind, a minor who is drinking or selling alcohol is a danger not only to themselves, but to those around them. Therefore, there is a substantial chance that they will apply a penalty that will teach the minor a lesson and deter them from committing such crimes in future.
At The Weiland Firm, PLC, we understand that mistakes can happen, and such mistakes should not define who you are or prevent you from securing opportunities in future. If your child, friend, acquaintance or someone close to you is facing underage drinking charges, we are here to help you. As much as we cannot guarantee any outcome, we will harness all our resources and fight aggressively for the charges to be reduced or completely dismissed.
Contact Us Today at 804-355-8037
If your daughter, son, friend, or anyone close to you has been charged with underage drinking or possession of alcohol, then you need to contact a Chesterfield county criminal defense lawyer who understands the seriousness of these charges and will fight aggressively to minimize the consequences and penalties as much as possible. At The Weiland Firm, PLC, we review the evidence in your case and come up with a list of potential options for you. We have helped hundreds of minors who have been charged with underage drinking or consumption of alcoholic beverages. We recognize and understand the negative consequences that these charges can have on someone’s future. We will work aggressively and creatively to provide you with the best legal assistance that you can get in Virginia.
Find out more:
Richmond Va Underage Possession Of Alcohol Lawyer
Henrico County VA Underage Possession Of Alcohol Lawyer
Hanover County Va Underage Possession Of Alcohol Lawyer
Glen Allen Va Underage Possession Of Alcohol Lawyer