Category: DUI

DUI 1st Offense charge reduced to Reckless Driving in Henrico

THE RESULTS DO NOT GUARANTEE OR PREDICT A SIMILAR RESULT IN ANY FUTURE CASE UNDERTAKEN BY THE LAWYER. THE RESULTS DEPEND ON A VARIETY OF FACTORS UNIQUE TO EACH CASE.

DUI 1st Offense charge reduced to Reckless Driving in Henrico

John Weiland represented a client charged with a first offense Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Henrico County, Va. The client was pulled over by a police officer who observed her traveling at excessive speed.

The client smelled of alcoholic beverage, admitted to consuming alcohol, and performed poorly on field sobriety tests.

Mr. Weiland was able to convince the judge to reduce the DWI 1st offense charge to Reckless Driving, which is less serious and carries significantly lower penalties.

Virginia DUI reckless driving
After conducting field sobriety tests, police arrested our client on suspicion of DUI

If you have been charged with DUI/DWI in Virginia, it is important that you contact an attorney that understands Virginia’s traffic laws and can guide you accordingly. John Weiland, Samantha Upton, and Nick Wright of Weiland Upton, Attorneys at Law focus their practice on defending clients charged with serious traffic offenses such as Reckless Driving and DUI/DWI and are ready to help you win your case.

2nd Offense DWI in Hanover – Reduced to DWI 1st Offense

2nd Offense DWI in Hanover County Va – Reduced to DWI 1st Offense

THE RESULTS DO NOT GUARANTEE OR PREDICT A SIMILAR RESULT IN ANY FUTURE CASE UNDERTAKEN BY THE LAWYER. THE RESULTS DEPEND ON A VARIETY OF FACTORS UNIQUE TO EACH CASE.

 

 

 

 

John Weiland represented a client charged with a Second Offense DWI in 5 Years in Hanover County, Va. A Second Offense DWI statutorily requires a significant jail sentence, hefty fines and a 3-year loss of driving privileges. On the trial date, Mr. Weiland was able to get the 2nd Offense DWI in 5 years reduced to a DWI 1st Offense, which has no mandatory jail time, only one year loss of license (instead of three) and carries lower penalties otherwise.

If you have been charged with DUI/DWI in Virginia, it is important that you contact an attorney that understands Virginia’s traffic laws and can guide you accordingly. John Weiland, Samantha Upton, and Nick Wright of Weiland Upton, Attorneys at Law focus their practice on defending clients charged with serious traffic offenses such as Reckless Driving and DUI/DWI and are ready to help you win your case.

Hanover Dui With Bac Above .20 Reduced To A Non-Elevated Dui With No Jail

Hanover Dui With Bac Above .20 Reduced To A Non-Elevated Dui With No Jail

THE RESULTS DO NOT GUARANTEE OR PREDICT A SIMILAR RESULT IN ANY FUTURE CASE UNDERTAKEN BY THE LAWYER. THE RESULTS DEPEND ON A VARIETY OF FACTORS UNIQUE TO EACH CASE.

John Weiland of Weiland Upton, Attorneys at Law, recently represented a client charged with DUI in Hanover, VA. On top of a traumatizing experience (client was involved in an accident), this client was facing 10 mandatory days in jail since her Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) was above .20 (almost 3 times the legal limit). While he couldn’t have the charge entirely dismissed, Mr. Weiland was able to convince the prosecutor to reduce the charge so that the client was not required to spend a single day in jail as a result of the deal.

If you have been charged with DUI/DWI in Virginia, it is important that you contact an attorney that understands Virginia’s traffic laws and can guide you accordingly. John Weiland and Samantha Upton of Weiland Upton, Attorneys at Law focus their practice on defending clients charged with serious traffic offenses such as Reckless Driving and DUI and are ready to help you win your case.

Hanover, Va Driving On A Revoked License Pursuant To A Prior Dui – Dismissed

Hanover, Va Driving On A Revoked License Pursuant To A Prior Dui – Dismissed!

THE RESULTS DO NOT GUARANTEE OR PREDICT A SIMILAR RESULT IN ANY FUTURE CASE UNDERTAKEN BY THE LAWYER. THE RESULTS DEPEND ON A VARIETY OF FACTORS UNIQUE TO EACH CASE.

John Weiland of Weiland Upton, Attorneys at Law, recently represented a client charged with Driving on a Revoked License pursuant to a prior DUI in Hanover County Virginia. This charge results in a one-year license suspension (in addition to the one-year license suspension from the prior DUI) and almost always some amount of jail time. Mr. Weiland found an issue with the traffic stop and convinced the prosecutor to dismiss the charge against his client!

If you have been charged with Driving on a Revoked License in Virginia, it is important that you contact an attorney that understands Virginia’s licensing laws and can guide you accordingly. John Weiland and Samantha Upton of Weiland Upton, Attorneys at Law focus their practice on defending clients charged with serious traffic offenses such as DUI and driving on a revoked license and are ready to help you win your case.

Hanover, Va Dui And Refusal To Blow In Breathalyzer Both Reduced To Reckless Driving

Hanover, Va Dui And Refusal To Blow In Breathalyzer Both Reduced To Reckless Driving

THE RESULTS DO NOT GUARANTEE OR PREDICT A SIMILAR RESULT IN ANY FUTURE CASE UNDERTAKEN BY THE LAWYER. THE RESULTS DEPEND ON A VARIETY OF FACTORS UNIQUE TO EACH CASE.

John Weiland of Weiland Upton, Attorneys at Law, recently represented a client charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI / DUI) and Refusal in Hanover County Virginia. The client was involved in an accident, smelled of alcoholic beverage, admitted to consuming alcohol, and performed poorly on the field sobriety tests. The client then refused to blow into the breathalyzer machine at the jail – which in itself results in a one-year license suspension on top of the DUI one-year license suspension.

Mr. Weiland was able to convince the prosecutor that the client deserved a break and the prosecutor agreed to dismiss the Refusal charge and reduce the DUI to Reckless Driving. The client served no time in jail and only lost her license for six months as a result of the negotiated deal. She obtained a restricted license to drive to work as part of the deal.

If you have been charged with DUI in Virginia, it is important that you contact an attorney that understands Virginia’s DUI laws and can guide you accordingly. John Weiland and Samantha Upton of Weiland Upton, Attorneys at Law focus their practice on defending clients charged with serious traffic offenses such as DUI and are ready to help you win your case.

Henrico County DUI Reduced to Reckless Driving

THE RESULTS DO NOT GUARANTEE OR PREDICT A SIMILAR RESULT IN ANY FUTURE CASE UNDERTAKEN BY THE LAWYER. THE RESULTS DEPEND ON A VARIETY OF FACTORS UNIQUE TO EACH CASE.

Henrico County, Virginia DUI / DWI reduced to Reckless Driving in

John Weiland of Weiland Upton, PLC, Attorneys at Law, recently represented a client charged with DUI in Henrico County, Virginia.

The case was a very close call as to whether they would win or lose at trial.  During trial preparations, Mr. Weiland negotiated with the prosecutor to reduce the DUI all the way down to Reckless Driving with a reasonable fine only (no license suspension; no ignition interlock; no active jail; no VASAP (Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program) requirement.

If you or someone you know has been charged with Driving While Intoxicated or Driving Under the Influence in Henrico, VA, contact the law office of Weiland Upton at 804-355-8037.

How Does a Virginia DUI Conviction Affect My Insurance

How Does a Virginia DUI Conviction Affect My Insurance

If you are charged with a DUI in Virginia, there are many things to consider. You must consider your possibility of jail time, fines, suspension of your driving privileges in Virginia, and who to hire as your attorney, but you must also consider the consequences a conviction would have on your auto insurance. The reality is that a DUI conviction can have a very significant effect on your insurance in Virginia.

Virginia Speeding Ticket Attorneys

What is an FR44?

In Virginia, a person convicted on DUI charges is required to file an FR44, which is basically a guarantee to the Virginia DMV that “High Risk” drivers are maintaining the required auto insurance coverage. Your insurance liability limits must be equal to or greater than $50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident, and $40,000 for property damage. It also means that if you cancel your policy, the DMV is notified, your license is re-suspended, more fines are imposed, and the timing for the FR44 is reset. Virginia requires most DUI offenders to file an FR44 for three years.

How do I file an FR44?

If a Virginia court informs you that you need to file an FR44, you will need to contact your insurance provider. If you do not have insurance, you will need to buy an insurance policy before having your Virginia driving privilege reinstated. Sometimes, drivers convicted of a DUI in Virginia who need to buy a new insurance policy to file an FR44 will be required to pay for an insurance policy term in full. This is to ensure the driver meets the Virginia requirements for the term’s duration while avoiding the risk of a non-payment policy cancellation.

How will my insurance be affected by my DUI conviction and FR44 filing?

Many major insurance companies will not insure persons required to file an FR44. Most insurance carriers who will insure FR44 drivers will do so at a higher premium, possibly even 40-70% higher than other drivers.

Therefore it is critical to have an attorney who is extremely familiar with Virginia’s DUI law if you find yourself charged with a DUI. Attorneys at Weiland Upton dedicate a great deal of our practice to defending people charged with DUI in Central Virginia.