Caroline County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

  • Home
  • Caroline County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

Caroline County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

(804) 355-8037

As one of the most frequently issued charges in Caroline County, VA, underage possession of alcohol and underage drinking are definitely targets of the law enforcement officials across the region. They know where to wait to find young people doing what they shouldn’t be doing so no concert venue, event center or popular youth hangout spot in Caroline County is off-limits to them. That means an underage possession of alcohol or underage drinking charge could be in your child’s future.

If this happens to your child, you have a local law firm that specializes in taking care of just these kinds of cases for anxious parents in Caroline County, VA. We understand their worry as underage possession of alcohol and underage drinking charges carry real significant penalties in Caroline County, VA. These penalties include jail time as it is a Class 1 Misdemeanor in Virginia and that’s serious stuff for a young person to live with.

The underage drinking attorneys and underage possession of alcohol lawyers at The Weiland Firm, PLC has helped countless parents navigate underage possession of alcohol cases pending against their children in Caroline County, VA so we have the experience and know-how of the juvenile justice system and criminal court system required to find an amenable solution to your child’s troubles. Reach out to us today to discuss the options available to you and your child with one of our Caroline County underage possession of alcohol attorneys.

Applicable Laws For Underage Possession of Alcohol In Caroline County, VA

The law surrounding underage possession of alcohol in Caroline County, VA are very clear. It’s a crime for anyone underage to drink or possess alcohol in any measure. The only exception to this allowed under the law is when the minor is supervised by a parent or guardian and on private property. Selling alcohol or giving alcohol to minors is also a crime in Caroline County, VA. Doing so is considered a Class 1 Misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and fines not to exceed $2,500. Steep penalties to be sure but it can get worse for those who sell alcohol to a minor without checking ID. That can be charged as a Class 3 Misdemeanor which is a problem you don’t want to face without one of the lawyers from The Weiland Firm, PLC on your side. We can help anyone charged with an alcohol-related crime in Caroline County, VA.

Primary Consequences For Underage Possession of Alcohol & Underage Drinking in Caroline County, Virginia?

Virginia Code Section 4.1-305 Underage Possession of Alcohol

As a Class 1 Misdemeanor offense in Caroline County, VA, underage drinking and underage possession of alcohol is one of the most serious crimes your child can be charged with in Virginia. And it’s a crime that carries long-term impacts if the charge goes uncontested in court. Penalties differ for those who are under 18 as they’re considered juveniles under Caroline County, VA and Virginia statute. However, the consequences are still outside the bounds of what any responsible parent would accept for their child. Those over 18 who are charged with underage drinking or underage possession of alcohol are in for a much tougher time as they’re charged as adults and can have the book thrown at them by a judge. That is, unless they bring one of the underage drinking and underage possession of alcohol lawyers from The Weiland Firm, PLC with them to court.

What Happens If You Get Caught Drinking Under 21 In Caroline County, Virginia?

Underage drinking and possession of alcohol – Class 1 misdemeanor offenses in Virginia

Between the age of 18 to 20:

  • Receive 12 months in Jail.
  • A Maximum Fine of $2,500.
  • A Minimum Fine of $500.
  • Community Service.
  • Commonly Charged As A Minimum Fine of $500 or 50 Hours of Community Service.

Below the age of 18:

  • Driver’s license will be delayed or suspended for 6 months.
  • Complete a compulsory substance abuse counseling program.

Seriously, what parent would accept any of the described penalties for their child? How many of us didn’t make a mistake as a young person? Most of us did and most parents did too so understanding how it happened is one thing. Fighting the consequences in court, or finding an alternative solution the court will accept, is another and that’s where the underage drinking and underage possession of alcohol attorneys from The Weiland Firm, PLC can save you time, worry and money over the long run. Whether your child was arrested for underage drinking, underage possession of alcohol or possessing a fake ID in order to purchase alcohol, we’re the legal team you’ll want working on your behalf to secure a positive outcome for your child. That goes for anyone charged with giving their ID to a minor in the pursuit of purchasing alcohol as a minor. That’s a serious crime in Caroline County, VA too so you’ll want The Weiland Firm, PLC fighting for you from the very start of your case if you want to avoid the pitfalls and penalties that come with conviction.

First Offender Program For Underage Possession of Alcohol In Caroline County, VA

When your child has been arrested for underage drinking or underage possession of alcohol in Caroline County, VA you may feel like the bottom has fallen out of the world. You may think they’ve ruined their chance at a happy childhood. However, with one of the underage drinking and underage possession of alcohol lawyers from The Weiland Firm, PLC fighting for your child there may be alternatives to the penalties you dread so much – like the first offender program. If your child fits the criteria they may be entered into this program instead of being outright charged with a crime. This is pre-conviction probation where they will complete an alcohol education program and community service. Do so and they can have the charge completely dismissed at the end of the probationary period. Find out more with a free case review with the Caroline County, VA underage possession of alcohol attorneys at The Weiland Firm, PLC.

Additional Consequences Of Underage Possession of Alcohol In Caroline County, Virginia

Being found guilt in a court of law for underage drinking or underage possession of alcohol in Caroline County, VA carries with it all of the penalties we’ve outlined in the sections above, as well as some that can continue to impact your child’s life long after their court date has come and gone. First, they may be suspended or expelled from school which can hamper their education at a delicate time. It might even make finding a new school difficult as most will look at your child’s record and see the underage drinking or underage possession of alcohol conviction prior to admitting them. There are also college admissions to consider as those institutions often look at criminal records prior to making a decision about a student. It may even hurt them with potential employers and bar them from advancement in certain industries. Don’t take those chances with your child’s future when they’ve been charged with underage drinking or underage possession of alcohol in Caroline County, VA. Call on The Weiland Firm, PLC for the legal help you need.

Experienced Caroline County, VA Underage Drinking Attorneys

At The Weiland Firm, PLC, we take underage drinking and underage possession of alcohol cases extremely seriously and go to every length allowed under the law to see our clients exonerated of the charges or given a reduced penalty or diversionary program instead of a conviction. We have more than a decade of experience helping parents navigate the court process and find a solution that works for their family – all at rates that are affordable for any parent who finds their child in this predicament. We also offer free case reviews prior to in-depth consultations that provide you with all the information you need to know pertaining to underage possession of alcohol and underage drinking charges in Caroline County, VA.

Contact Us Today At (804) 355-8037

Any time your child’s freedom and future are at risk, you should consult the effective, experienced and aggressive defense attorneys at The Weiland Firm, PLC. Our Caroline County, VA underage drinking and underage possession of alcohol attorneys will handle the case with the seriousness that it deserves. As soon as your child has been arrested for underage drinking or have been accused of possessing, selling or consuming alcohol in a public space you need to contact our attorneys immediately. Don’t plead guilty or attempt to negotiate for a reduced penalty by yourself. If you do that, you’re putting yourself at the mercy of the criminal justice system and the outcome might not be to your liking. Contact The Weiland Firm, PLC instead for a free case review and schedule a free consultation.

Related Pages:

Chesterfield County Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Henrico County Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Hanover County Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Glen Allen Va Under Age Possession of Alcohol Lawyer

Related Information:

Underage Possession of Alcohol (804) 469-8075 In Virginia, it’s illegal for a person under 21-years old to possess, purchase, or consume any alcoholic beverage such as liquor, wine, and beer (Code of Virginia § 4.1-305).  Our attorneys are highly experienced in defending minors and young adults charged with underage possession of alcohol in Henrico County, Hanover County, the Town of Ashland, Chesterfield County, Caroline County,…

Underage Possession of Alcohol Charge Dropped The Weiland Firm, PLC represented a VCU student recently in Richmond General District Court on a charge of Underage Possession of Alcohol. In this case, the VCU police department responded to a complaint regarding some activity in a university dorm room. When the the police arrived, they immediately noticed the smell of alcohol in the room where several college students were hanging…

Underage Possession of Alcohol Dismissed in Caroline County, VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Dismissed in Caroline County, VA Last week, John Weiland of The Weiland Firm, PLC, Attorneys at Law, represented a client charged with Underage Possession of Alcohol a (Class 1 Misdemeanor) in Caroline County, Virginia. Mr. Weiland met with the client and his family and prepared a strategy for the best possible outcome in the case. A criminal…